Books & eBooks - ENC 1101 - Bielecki - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Searching the Library Collection to Find Books and eBooks

Created specifically for Ms. Bielecki's ENC 1101 courses, this page provides a basic overview of how to search the HCC Library collections for books and ebooks. First, read the log-in instructions on the "Home" tab. Then read the search strategies below right and search the ebook databases at left or the entire HCC library holdings (including printed books) at right.

Scroll down to find out how to get HCC's free tutoring in person or online. For help with other aspects of composition, click the tabs above. This page is designed to be a helpful supplement to the course instruction and Canvas materials, not a replacement for them. For specific details on assignments, see our Canvas course.

eBook Databases

While eBooks (online books) may come up in a general search of the Library Catalog, you can also search individual eBook databases to find online books that precisely match your topical search terms. In addition, you can browse by subject, as well as search within a subject.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Platform of eBooks and audiobooks. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. Funded by HCC and statewide allocation.
ABC-CLIO eBooks
Searchable reference, academic and general interest e-books. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Gale Ebooks
Searchable database of more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. Funding source: HCC and Statewide
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing)
Reference and nonfiction eBooks that cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, careers and more. Funding source: HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.

See our full listing of databases that contain eBooks.

Academic Success Centers (Tutoring)
Info on and links to HCC's ASCs
Schedule an appointment with the Ybor City ASC

Questions? 813-253-7741 or yborsuccess@hccfl.edu

Video or link not working? Please email URL to jbielecki@hccfl.edu.

Upswing is an online tutoring service to which all HCC students are subscribed. Call 844-879-8779 for tech support.

Upswing Knowledge Base
Technical help with the online tutoring service
more...less...
See also https://hccfl.upswing.io/

Video or link not working? Please email URL to jbielecki@hccfl.edu.

Search HCC Libraries

Tips on Searching

If you're prompted to enter Log-In information, refer to the Home or HCC ID Info page.

You may find all that you need just by using the Library Search box, including more than just books, e.g. articles, ebooks, streaming video, and other resources.

Finding Print Books in the Library

To Find a book in the library using the Library Catalog (HCC Libraries Search):

You need the Call Number
Check the Location (Circulation, Reference, etc.)
Check the availability (available, checked out, etc.)

Here are a few slides to help you find a print book in the library. If you can't find what you need, ask for help.

Finding your print book in the library

ENC 1101 - Bielecki: Books & eBooks