LibGuides: Ask-a-Librarian: Tutorials/How-tos

Helpful Guides

Online Library Orientation
by Jeremy Bullian Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 462 views this year
Citation Guide - How to Cite Your Sources
by HCC Libraries Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 3393 views this year
Library Resources for Online Learning
by Jeremy Bullian Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 475 views this year
PlagiarismRx: Ensuring Academic Integrity
by Alicia Ellison Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 296 views this year

eBooks & Reference Databases Help

ABC-CLIO eBooks Help
eBooks on EBSCOhost: Downloading
This tutorial demonstrates the download functionality for EBSCO eBooks.
eBooks on EBSCOhost: Mobile
eBooks on EBSCOhost: Reading
This tutorial demonstrates how to read EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost and EBSCO Discovery Service online using your browser.
eBooks on EBSCOhost: Searching
This tutorial demonstrates the searching functionality for EBSCO eBooks as well as how to read eBooks online.
EBSCO eBooks Accessibility User Guide
Infobase eBooks Support
Oxford University Press Help
Including the Oxford Online databases: Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Music, Oxford Art, & Oxford Reference.

Multimedia Databases Help

Primo VE Library Search Tutorials

Primo VE End User Help
Ex Libris page for Primo VE help documentation
Primo FAQs and Hints
Help information for Primo, the Library Discovery Search system.
Introduction to Primo (00:03:42)

Finding your print book in the library

Library of Congress subject headings complete
The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a classification system that was first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections of the Library of Congress but is now used in academic libraries around the world.

Library of Congress subject headings
The third floor shelves are arranged according to the Library of Congress system, which is used to organize books in academic libraries.

Guides for Student Success

Library & Research Jargon
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Jan 17, 2024 114 views this year
Primary & Secondary Sources
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 169 views this year
PowerPoint Presentation Best Practices
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Dec 8, 2023 5365 views this year
Tips on Studying and Reading for College
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Dec 8, 2023 92 views this year
Top Free Tools & Apps for College Students
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 139 views this year
Mental Health & At-Risk Resources
by Dale Mabry Library Last Updated Mar 2, 2024 113 views this year

Database Tutorials

EBSCO Database Tutorials
EBSCOhost Introduction Tutorial
Gale Support Training Tools
Gale Video Tutorials
Infobase Database Support
Includes Bloom's Literature and Issues & Controversies databases.
JSTOR Help
NewsBank Help
Nexis Uni for Students
Tutorial Modules for Nexis Uni
Nursing Reference Center Help
ProQuest Platform LibGuides
Salem Press User Guide (PDF)
Very Short Introductions Help

Website Evaluation Tools

Think carefully about the sources you are finding and using. Here are some tools that can help:

The SIFT Method
Apply the C.R.A.A.P. detection model (click links for tips):

C for Currency

Currency - How recent is the information?

R for Reliability

Reliability - What kind of information is included in the resource? Is it balanced? Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?

A for Authority

Authority - Who is the creator or author? Who is the publisher or sponsor? What is the author's or publisher's interest (if any) in this information?

A for Accuracy

Accuracy - Is the content readable? Is the content truthful? Is the content correct?

P for Purpose/Point of View

Purpose/Point of View - Is this fact or opinion? Is the creator/author trying to sell you something; persuade you about something?

Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial
UC - Berkeley