MLA Style - ENC 1101 - Bielecki - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

MLA Style: In-Text (Parenthetical) and Works-Cited Page Citations

Created specifically for Ms. Bielecki's ENC courses, this page covers how to use MLA style for page formatting, in-text (parenthetical) citations, and the works-cited page. Further down the page, find links to online writing labs (OWLs), information on how to get HCC's free tutoring in person or online, and embedded videos.

For details on quoting, summarizing, paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism, see the other pages on this "Citation" tab.

Chapters on MLA Style

Chapter 24: MLA Format
from our textbook, Composition and Grammar for HCC by HCC
Chapter 24.1: Page Layout
from our textbook, Composition and Grammar for HCC by HCC
Chapter 24.2: In-Text Citations
from our textbook, Composition and Grammar for HCC by HCC
Chapter 24.3: Works Cited Page
from our textbook, Composition and Grammar for HCC by HCC

Chapter 24.4: MLA Practice Template and Examples
This chapter contains a link to the MLA Practice Template for creating work-cited page citations. It is not in the printed textbook.
Chapter 24.4: MLA Practice Template (accessible version as an Excel table)

Online Resources for MLA-Style Citation

MLA.org
This, the official site of the Modern Language Association, has a works cited page template, formatting/writing tips, a citation tool, quizzes, FAQs, and more.
MLA Interactive Practice Template (from MLA.org)
When creating a works cited page citation on your own, use this template to practice compiling the needed information in the correct order.
Works Cited: A Quick Guide (from style.mla.org)
An interactive introduction to the basics of the works-cited page from the Modern Language Association (MLA)
Webinar from MLA on works-cited page entries
This one-hour webinar from MLA details step by step exactly how to create works-cited page entries.
Citation & Documentation: Excelsior College
Explanation and interactive exercises in a tutorial format on avoiding plagiarism, MLA style, and more
HCC Libraries' Citation Guide: How to Cite Sources, MLA Style
A whole LibGuide devoted to citation with a tab for MLA style
In-Text Citations: Valencia College
Details and examples of using in-text (parenthetical) citations with quotations
MLA 9th: Citation Examples from HCC's ASC
This PDF includes MLA's practice template plus examples of works-cited page ("end-of-text") and parenthetical (in-text) citations. (NOTE: The URLs should begin with "http://" or "https://.")
MLA Introduction: Purdue University OWL
Lots of details on formatting pages, in-text (parenthetical) citations, and works-cited pages in MLA style, plus a workshop
The Pearson Guide to the 2021 MLA Handbook
A 53-page publication with lots of examples and explanation

Slide Show and Additional Course Materials on MLA Style

MLA-Style Citations Slide Show
WARNING: "How to Avoid Problems with Citation Tools"
Chapter 37.8 of Ms. Bielecki's online textbook explains which citation tools to use (the databases', not the library catalog's) and why beginners may want to avoid open-access sources.
"The Easy Way to Format a Works-Cited Page"
Chapter 37.3.B of Ms. Bielecki's online textbook provides step-by-step instructions on formatting an MLA-style works-cited page, including double-spacing and creating a hanging indentation.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Handbook

MLA Handbook (9th Edition) by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Available for circulation (check-out), on reserve, or in reference. See locations for availability by-campus.

Read chapter 1, "Formatting Your Research Project," and chapter 4.2-4.11, "Avoiding Plagiarism," for free here. Find FAQs at style.mla.org.

Academic Success Centers (Tutoring)
Info on and links to HCC's ASCs
Schedule an appointment with the Ybor City ASC

Questions? 813-253-7741 or yborsuccess@hccfl.edu

Video or link not working? Please email URL to jbielecki@hccfl.edu.

Upswing is an online tutoring service to which all HCC students are subscribed. Call 844-879-8779 for tech support.

Upswing Knowledge Base
Technical help with the online tutoring service
more...less...
See also https://hccfl.upswing.io/