Databases (Articles & Videos) - ENC 1101 - Bielecki - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Search Library Databases for Online Resources

Searching the entire library collection (in box at right) may lead to too many hits. Instead, try narrowing your search to library databases in a specific subject area. See instructions in the PDF below. Log-in instructions are on the "Home" tab.

Ms. Bielecki's Step-by-Step Handout on Finding Trustworthy, Usable Sources for ANY Subject (ENC 1101 classes)
Use this handout for step-by-step instructions on finding trustworthy expert sources for your academic essays in almost any course.

HCC Libraries: All Databases
Following this link, use the "All Subjects" pull-down menu to choose the subject area that best matches your topic. Then choose any of the databases for that subject and begin your search. (See the "Tips on Searching" at left.) If you don't find the information you seek in one database, try another and another until you do.

Favorite Article Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
JSTOR
Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.
See all of our general research databases for researching articles (from magazines/journals/newspapers).

Favorite News Databases

America's News (Newsbank)
Current and archived newspaper articles from around the United States, Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial and a user guide.
Florida News Sources (NewsBank)
Search major Florida newspapers, including Tampa Bay Times (formerly the St. Petersburg Times), The Tampa Tribune (which ceased publication in 2016), and others. Explore Florida history through local news, events and people. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Funding source: Statewide allocation.
New York Times - Current (Gale)
Articles from The New York Times dating from January 1, 1985 to today. A subset of Gale General OneFile. Use the search box labeled, Search Within Publication. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Articles from The New York Times dating from 1851 to 2019. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.
See our full list of Newspaper databases.

Favorite Pro/Con Databases

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (Sage)
Reports on timely issues, from social to environment, health, education, and science. Produced by experienced journalists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Offers information from scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals that cover all aspects of human impact to the environment.Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.
See our full list of pro/con databases.

Favorite Video Databases

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

You can view or use individual segments or an entire video. Transcripts and citation help are provided. Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.
See all our streaming video databases.

Search HCC Libraries

Differences Between Scholarly and Popular Articles

Below is a comparison of articles in scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals vs. articles in popular magazines. A typical scholarly journal is pictured - you can see how different it looks from a popular magazine.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

eBook Databases

While eBooks (online books) may come up in a general search of the Library Catalog, you can also search individual eBook databases to find online books that precisely match your topical search terms. In addition, you can browse by subject, as well as search within a subject.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Platform of eBooks and audiobooks. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. Funded by HCC and statewide allocation.
ABC-CLIO eBooks
Searchable reference, academic and general interest e-books. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Gale Ebooks
Searchable database of more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. Funding source: HCC and Statewide
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing)
Reference and nonfiction eBooks that cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, careers and more. Funding source: HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.