Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 - Freeman (Plant City): MLA Citation Assignment Part II

MLA Citation Assignment Part II

Part II

The Information below is a guide to assist in locating resources to complete Part II of the MLA Citation Assignment.  

Use the box below to enter search terms.  The page will refresh into the HCC Library Catalog.

If you need help logging in to the HCC Libraries Online System, please see the Trouble Logging In? page in this Research Guide.

 

Use the HCC Library Catalog to search for resources that can be used for the following questions.

Question 1

1.  Locate and cite a single biography of a former President.

Use the HCC library catalog to answer this question and to search for your subject term. Following these steps:

  1. Type your search term, for example, "John F. Kennedy"

  2. Choose the Magnifying glass icon to start your search
  3. The page will refresh with your search results
  4. Filter your results by choosing Genre = Biography (filter my results column) 
  5. Open a record in the results that says, Book, by choosing the title

To cite a book source, use the MLA 9th Edition Format.  Directions for this format are found starting on page 399 in your Composition & Grammar textbook.

 

Question 2

2. Using the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), locate the definition and etymology of the terms “style” and “culture”.

The OED is available from the library as a database. You can access OED by clicking on the link below. Once you have opened OED, type your word in the search box and click Go. Your results list should appear. Click on "Full Entry" to look at the complete entry for your word.

Question 3

3.  Using the electronic Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), locate the necessary training and education for two professions of your choice; include earnings, anticipated job prospects, and working conditions.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is published by the U.S. Department of Labor and is available as either a print source in the HCC Plant City Library or online through the U.S. Department of Labor website.  Below find the HCC Library Catalog record and the link to the online version.

Question 4

4. Locate an article on “academic writing” and provide a citation. 

  1.  Choose Academic OneFile - see the link below for access
    1. The Advanced Search page opens
  2. Type in your search term academic writing in the first keyword search box
    1. Under More Options, confirm Full Text Documents is checked
  3. Choose Search

Choose any article listed in the results by clicking on the article title.  To cite using MLA 9th Edition format, please use the resources found in your composition and grammar textbook starting on page 399.

 

Question 5

5. Using the Google Book Search, find a book on the subject "investing wisely" and provide a citation.

Google Book Search  

Question 6

6. Using the HCC Library Catalog, locate and cite: (a) a book on the subject of "hypertension," (b) a book by Stephen King, (c) a book about Donald Trump, and (d) a book about the "2016 election", published 2016/2017.

Question 7

7. Using the same resource, locate and list all books in the HCC collection by author Tillie Olsen.

  1. Search the HCC Library Catalog by typing "Tillie Olsen" in the Search Anything box.
  2. After the results populate, look under the Filter Your Results column
  3. Choose the down arrow at Author/Creator
  4. Choose Tillie Olsen from the list

Question 8

8. Using the keyword "economic stimulus" and searching Statewide Collection, cite two of the most relevant search result(s).

NOTE: To find the Statewide Collection, open either the Advanced Search or use the Pull Down Menu option in the search bar by the word Everything.
  1. Choose New Search in the top header
  2. Type "economic stimulus" in the Search Anything box
  3. Choose "Statewide Catalog" from the Search options that populate as you type your search term