Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENC 1101 Library Research Assignment
Tips for your Library Research Assignment:
- When needing to find books use the HCC Libraries Online Catalog.
- The catalog allows you to search for books located at all of the HCC Libraries and at all Florida higher education institutions called the Statewide Catalog.
If you need librarian assistance with this assignment, please feel free to contact the Ask A Librarian online reference help. See the Using this Guide page for contact information.
Search HCC Libraries with Primo
Find books, articles, videos, & more
1. Locate and cite a single biography of one of the following U.S Presidents : Nixon, Lincoln, Kennedy, Clinton, Bush, Obama, or Trump.
Use the HCC library catalog to answer this question and to search for your subject term. Open the Advanced Search page.
Type the search term "John F. Kennedy" in the keyword box. The first few results should be book records, whether e-book or printed should not matter since you are just needing to provide a citation.
An excellent resource to help write your citation is your Composition and Grammar textbook for this class. The MLA Citation section starts on page 399.
2. Using the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), locate the definition and etymology of the terms “wife” and “professor”.
The OED is available from the library as a database. You can access OED by clicking on the link below. Once you have opened OED, type your word in the search box and click Go. Your results list should appear. Click on "Full Entry" to look at the complete entry for your word.
3. Using the electronic Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), or the hard copy, locate the educational requirements and salary range for a profession of your choice.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is published by the U.S. Department of Labor and is available as either a print source in the HCC Plant City Library or online through the U.S. Department of Labor website. Below find links to the online version.
Occupational Outlook Handbook by
Call Number: HD 8051 .A62
Available at the HCC Plant City campus library.
4. Using Library Resources for Online Learners, locate an article on “plagiarism” and provide a citation.
For this question, open the Library Resources for Online Learners.
Follow these steps to help answer this question:
- Open the Find Articles page
- Open up the Library Databases
- Choose Academic OneFile
- This opens the Advanced Search page for this database
- Type in your search term plagiarism in the first keyword search box
- Under More Options, confirm Full Text Documents is checked
- Choose Search
Choose any article listed in the results by clicking on the article title. To cite using MLA 9th Edition format, please use the resources found starting on page 399 of your Composition and Grammar textbook.
5. Using the HCC Library Catalog to search the Statewide Catalog and find a book on the subject of "Bitcoin" and provide a full citation.
Follow these steps to locate a resource for this question:
- Type bitcoin in the search box.
- Choose the magnifying glass to start your search
- Several different types of resources will be in the results
- Look at the Filter Your Results Section
- If you are using a mobile device, look for the filter icon to view the Filter Your Results Section
- Open the pull down menu for Resource Type
- Choose Books
- The page will refresh
- Open a book record and follow the steps in your textbook for proper citations
6 a - d. Using the Simple Search option, locate and cite:
- A DVD on the subject of "depression"
- Type depression in the search term box
- Choose Search
- When results populate, narrow search results by using the Filter option Resource Type
- Use Resource Type Videos
- The results will be both DVD and streaming videos
- Under the Filter section, choose Availability
- Choose Held by Library
- These results should be DVDs
- A book by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
- Type Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in the search term box - start search
- Open/Use the Filter Your Results Section
- Choose Author/Creator
- Choose Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie from the options
- A book about Gerrymandering
- Type Gerrymandering in the search term box
- Using one of the Library Databases, locate an article about the"2020 election," published in 2020
- See the information in the next box to answer this question
To answer this question, follow these steps:
- At the Top Header of the HCC Library Catalog, choose Databases A-Z to open our listing of databases.
- Choose any database
- For this assignment, Academic One File is a good one to use
7. Using the Academic Video Online database (Alexander Street Press), locate and cite three videos on the subject of Democracy.
Academic Video Online or AVON for short, is a streaming video database. See the link below for access.
8. Using the Keyword "Cybersecurity" and searching the Statewide Collection cite two of the most relevant search result(s).
Start a new search
- Type cybersecurity as your Keyword Search Term
- The pull down menu option that states Everything
- Change this to Statewide Collection
9. Using the Research Guides (LibGuides) tool, locate your course LibGuide and cite two of the MLA Citation guides listed under Writing and MLA Citation Guides.
- Find the Research Guides from the HCC Libraries Online Catalog by opening Search HCC Libraries (see link below)
- Search for ENC 1101 Freeman (your instructor's last name)
- Choose the LibGuide for your class (ENC 1101, ENC 1102 ,etc.)
- Open the MLA Citation Guides page
- Use the resources in the Writing and MLA Citation Guides Box
10. Within the LibGuide, locate the Definition Essay Assignment; from "About the Topic", borrow a quote to define this term; identify and list one of the three sample "About the Topic".
- Go to the Definition Essay Assignment page in this LibGuide to answer this question