Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Definition Essay Assignment
Definition Essay Assignment Resources
The book titles and database suggestions on this page will help you find resources for this assignment. You will need to be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access the databases and any other electronic material found in the HCC Libraries Online Catalog.
"About the Topic"
Definition Essays can be challenging. The HCC Libraries Online Catalog has a new feature called "About the Topic". This resource appears at the top of the results page for a simple search linking you to an authoritative reference entry that helps define your term as well as provides essential background information and other keywords in expanding your definition.
Below is a sample of some of the About the Topic results. To access these links, please make sure you are logged into the HCC Libraries Online System.
Not all keyword search terms will have an "About the Topic" in the results.
Resources for the Definition Essay
Books and ebooks that examine all kinds of topics are available from the HCC Library. Books are located by searching the HCC Libraries Online Catalog.
Some books that might be helpful to begin this assignment:
Reference databases provide general background information on a specific topic to help define your subject as well as provide a better understanding of the subject matter.
Britannica Academic (Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Salem Online (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Science (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowVery Short Introductions offer "a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions...written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable." Broad subjects areas include: Arts and Humanities, Science and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Law, Medicine and Health.
Funded by: FLVC group license
Articles from Databases
Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Use to search for the definition and etymology of a word.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Use to search for information related to art. For example, if your search term is photography, use this database to find information about the art of photography.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for information related to music. For example, if you are researching a musical type or musical instrument, this would be a good database to use.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Use to find information on a health or medically related term. This resource contains magazine, journal and book articles, videos and pamphlets and more.
MLA Citation Help
MLA Citation Writing
Please see the MLA Citation Guide page for citation writing assistance.