Databases - Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles - Dr. Freeman - ENC 1101 (Plant City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Library Tips Handout

TipSheet

The PDF file below, "ENC1101 - Tip Sheet" provides instructions in a printable sheet for easy reference.

ENC1101 - Tip Sheet

What are Library Databases?

The video below is by Yavapai College and explains the benefits of using library databases.

Good Databases to Use in ENC classes

Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
America's News (Newsbank) Current and archived newspaper articles from around the United States, Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial and a user guide.
Biography (Gale in Context) Biographical reference database covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Britannica Academic (Britannica) Includes encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other resources and tools for your research. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Education Source (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, books, conference papers, and more, covering early childhood through higher education—including educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Funded by statewide allocation.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) Full-text articles from periodicals and reports for educators, administrators, and education students. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Health and Wellness (Gale) Information on a wide range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) Magazine articles, e-books, primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps, historical film and video, and more, covering U.S. and World history. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students, and researchers. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press) Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.
Science (Gale in Context) Reference information, journal and magazine articles, and other media, covering all fields of science and organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) Content from periodicals, reference works, and primary source documents relating to U.S. history, organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine

Contact Me

Dr. Freeman - ENC 1101 (Plant City): Databases - Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Library Tips Handout

TipSheet

What are Library Databases?

What are Library Databases?

Good Databases to Use in ENC classes

Subject Guide