Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102: Finding Literary Criticism & More (Dale Mabry): Poetry

Selected websites and library resources for researching works of literature.

Poetry: Background Info

Background info - such as that found in these books and eBooks - provides the basic information about a work, author or literary topic. Background info can give a foundation for reading literary criticism.

Shakespeare

Search online article databases for literary criticism

Different from background information, literary criticism can be defined as analysis and interpretation of literary works by scholars giving their points of view. These online databases are especially helpful for finding literary criticism articles.

Search HCC Libraries catalog for literary criticism

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Help sheets

The following two links open into new windows.

Tutorial: finding literary criticism in the library catalog and literary databases (00:08:05)

This video tutorial shows how to find literary criticism in the library catalog and in literary article databases. Captions are available.

The catalog search demonstration begins at 00:01:06. The databases search demonstration begins at 00:02:54.

The databases demonstrated are Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature. The techniques shown are useful for any database.