Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drama: Background Info
Background info - such as that found in these books and eBooks - provides the basic information about a work, author or literary topic. Background info can give a foundation for reading literary criticism.
Drama for Students (eBook) Covers plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Each entry includes: an overview of the play; a brief biography of the playwright; a discussion of the play's principal themes; and excerpted critical commentary on various facets of the play.
Masterplots In the library and online as an eBook via Salem Online database. Link connects to the eBook.
Call Number: REF PN44 .M33 2011
Masterplots II, Drama Series In the library only. Plot synopses, character analysis and critical commentary of plays. Themes include AIDS, domestic abuse, racism, etc. In Vol. 7, use the Type of Plot Index.
Call Number: REF PN6112.5 .M37 2004
BBC Shakespeare Plays (Ambrose) Shakespeare is rightly called the world's greatest playwright for the soaring beauty of his language, for his profound insight into human nature, for the truths he dramatized and for the realism of the characters he created. He was, and remains, a superb entertainer. Featuring some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, these programs are an ideal choice for libraries, literature classes, and for continuing personal enjoyment. Ambrose Video is to proud to be the exclusive distributor of Shakespeare's plays which are so richly rewarding to our viewers. Funding source: HCC perpetual license
Bloom's Literature Scroll to Shakespeare Center for a multimedia guide to all of William Shakespeare's dramatic works.
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays In the library and online as an eBook. Examines all 39 of Shakespeare's plays, as well as Shakespeare's life, style, technique, and influences.
Call Number: PR2894 .C75 2015
Shakespeare for Students (eBook) All's well that ends well. Antony and Cleopatra. As you like it. The comedy of errors. Coriolanus. Hamlet. Henry IV part one. Henry V. Henry VI part three. Julius Caesar. King Lear. Lucrece. Macbeth. Measure for measure. The merchant of Venice. The merry wives of Windsor. A midsummer night's dream. Much ado about nothing. Othello. Richard II. Richard III. Romeo and Juliet. The sonnets. The taming of the shrew. The tempest. Twelfth night. Venus and Adonis. The winter's tale.
Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press) This database provides near DVD quality access to the top theatrical productions online. This is a great database for both theatre/drama and English literature study.
Funding source: HCC
Literary criticism in article databases
Different from background information, literary criticism can be defined as analysis and interpretation of literary works by scholars giving their points of view. These online databases are especially helpful for finding literary criticism articles.
Bloom's Literature Browse the topics - or enter your keyword(s) or title or name. Under the Criticism tab, find critical (scholarly) articles.
Literature (Gale) Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases (Literature Criticism, Literature Resources from Gale, & LitFinder) into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Search HCC Libraries catalog for literary criticism
Find books, articles, videos, & more
Introduction to PRIMO (00:03:42)
A short video introducing the library catalog PRIMO.
The following two links open to documents in new windows.
How to Use Literature Databases Video Instruction
This video shows how to find literary criticism in PRIMO, the library catalog and in literary research databases. Captions are available.
The databases demonstrated are Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature. The techniques shown are useful for any database.