Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background Info: Novels
Background information on literary works can include plot summaries, thematic overviews, author biographies, historical context, and other factual information. This kind of content can help you understand the scholarly articles you will find as you search for literary criticism.
Novels for Students In the library and online and as an eBook.
Synopses of plot, characters and themes; an author biography; a discussion of the story’s cultural and historical significance; excerpted criticism. Note: Includes discussion of some graphic novels.
Call Number: REF PN3385 .N68
Masterplots In the library and online as an eBook via Salem Online database. Link connects to the eBook.
Call Number: REF PN44 .M33 2011
Critical Survey of Long Fiction In the library and online and as an eBook via Salem Online database.
Biography, achievements, and analysis of themes, typical concerns, characters, motifs and representative works of 678 novelists. For themes and topics, the following indexes in Vol. 10 are especially helpful: Categorized, Geographic, Subject.
Call Number: REF PN3451 .C75 2010
Background info: Graphic Novels
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga, Second Edition Available in the library and online. Covers the most popular and studied manga graphic novels. The manga tradition includes josei manga, which targets a mature female audience, shoujo-ai manga, which focuses on the spiritual, sexual, or emotional aspects of relationships, shonen-ai, manga created by female authors that focuses on homoerotic or homoromantic male relationships, and kodomo manga, created exclusively for a young audience.
Call Number: REF PN6725 .C756 2018
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique, Second Edition Available in the library and online as an eBook. Insight into themes and topics related to graphic novels. It provides insight into various aspects of the industry, from craftsmanship such as lettering, inking, and illustration styles, to the production and distribution of graphic novels and the significance and history of comic book conventions.
Call Number: REF PN6725 .C7536 2019
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels - Independent and Underground Classics, Second Edition Available in the library and online as an eBook. This three volume set covers over 215 well-regarded works of the independent and underground genre of graphic novels, summarizing plots and analyzing the works in terms of their literary integrity and overall contribution to the graphic novel landscape.
Call Number: REF PN6725 .C754 2019
Literary criticism in article databases
Different from background information, literary criticism can be defined as analysis and interpretation of literary works by scholars giving their points of view. These online databases are especially helpful for finding literary criticism articles.
Bloom's Literature Browse the topics - or enter your keyword(s) or title or name. Under the Criticism tab, find critical (scholarly) articles.
Literature (Gale) Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases (Literature Criticism, Literature Resources from Gale, & LitFinder) into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Literary criticism in the library catalog
Find books, articles, videos, & more
Introduction to PRIMO (00:03:42)
A short video introducing the library catalog PRIMO.
How to Use Literature Databases Video Instruction
This video shows how to find literary criticism in PRIMO, the library catalog and in literary research databases. Captions are available.
The databases demonstrated are Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature. The techniques shown are useful for any database.
The following two links open to documents in new windows.