Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mythology: Background Info
Background info - such as that found in these books and eBooks - provides the basic information about a work, author or literary topic. Background info can give a foundation for reading literary criticism.
Gods and Goddesses Online. Examines stories associated with gods and goddesses: their relationships with each other and with human beings; their faults, foibles, strengths, and special powers. It offers explanations of how the gods and goddesses gifted humans with life, water, fire, music, and dance. Covers deities from around the globe.
Call Number: REF BL473 .G64 2019
Heroes and Heroines In the library and online. 40 essays presented in six thematic categories ("Birth and Prophecy," "Trial and Quest," "The Host of Heroines," "Myth and Monstrosity," "The Cultural Hero," and "Survey of Myth and Folklore") allow students to compare heroes and heroines across eras and cultures.
Call Number: REF GR515 .C75 2013
Love, Sexuality, and Desire In the library and online. Discusses myths and folklore about love and sexuality from cultures and countries such as ancient Greece and Rome, ancient Egypt, India, China, Japan, Mesopotamia, Southeast Asia, North and South America, American Indian, and Western Europe.
Call Number: REF GR460 .C75 2013
World Mythology In the library and online. Myths in the volume are organized by regions of the world and cultures, such as Oceania, South East Asia, and Meso-America. In addition, twelve maps listing ancient cultures and charts on mythological figures will provide a broad overview of major deities.
Call Number: REF BL312 .C75 2013
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife In the library and online. TIPS:
- Use the Index at the back of Vol. 4 to look up cultures or countries and find the pages where they are discussed.
- Note the sub-topics under each country or culture.
- You can also look up a topic (ex., Music and Dance) and find where that topic is discussed for a given country or culture.
- Topics and Themes in World Folklore, in Vol.1, can be extra helpful for literature and mythology studies.
Call Number: REF GR35 .G75 2006
These books are online eBooks only.
UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology Online. A culture's mythology is more than just a collection of stories and characters. Myths and heroes act as a window into the beliefs and values of ancient civilizations. This book helps students with the plot points, historical context, and mythological allusions they need to fully understand how mythologies not only reflect cultures of old but also remain meaningful in society today.
The Zombie Book: The Encyclopedia of the Living Dead Online. More than 250 entries cover everything from hit television shows, books, and movies, including The Walking Dead, World War Z and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, to zombies in folklore and mythology, such as the Greek god Asclepius, ancient Voodoo religion, and the Native American Wendigo legend. The Zombie Book: The Encyclopedia of the Living Dead examines mad cow disease, the Spanish flu pandemic of 1918, the Centers for Disease Control preparing for the end of the world, and more.
Encyclopedia of the Vampire Encyclopedia relating to all phases of vampirism—in literature, film, and television; in folklore; and in world culture.
Databases for Mythology Research
Unlike background information, scholarly articles on mythology topics provide interpretation and opinion by professors who hold advanced degrees in humanities, literature, and related fields
Humanities Source (EBSCO) Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Bloom's Literature Bloom's Literature examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Funding source: FLVC group license
Literature (Gale) Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases (Literature Criticism, Literature Resources from Gale, & LitFinder) into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Search HCC Libraries catalog for materials about mythology
Find books, articles, videos, & more
Introduction to PRIMO (00:03:42)
A short video introducing the library catalog PRIMO.
The following two links open to documents in new windows.
How to Use Literature Databases Video Instruction
This video shows how to find literary criticism in PRIMO, the library catalog and in literary research databases. Captions are available.
The databases demonstrated are Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature. The techniques shown are useful for any database.