The resources on this page will lead you to material on diverse approaches to analyzing literary works. (Remember that approaches sometimes overlap, so you may use more than one as needed.) The printed reference books are located in the Ybor City Campus Library; some of them may be requested online. Other references are ebooks. To request a book or view an ebook, log in using the instructions found on the "Home" tab.
Literary Criticism and Theory by
Call Number: NL846816
ISBN: 1135053022
Publication Date: 2014
"This incredibly useful volume offers an introduction to the history of literary criticism and theory from classical antiquity to the present. It is almost impossible to read or study literature without acknowledging its relationship to criticism, and this guide shows how the two have been inextricable since Plato. Introducing theory and criticism through the texts themselves, Pelagia Goulimari examines:
- A variety of key thinkers from Plato and Aristotle through to Foucault and Derrida
- Topics and themes in the history of literary criticism such as mimesis and creation, inspiration, the emotions, reason, aesthetic, history, morality, ethics, culture and discourse
- The main genres and movements in the history of literature including the epic, tragedy, comedy, romanticism, realism, modernism and postmodernism
- Cross-historical connections between theories and theorists and the dissemination, appropriation and creative misunderstanding of concepts, ideas and arguments.
With handy features such as a glossary, annotated further reading, descriptive text boxes and instructive marginalia, this book is the ideal introduction to anyone approaching theory and criticism for the first time" (description provided by publisher)
Modern North American Criticism and Theory (ebook) by
Focusing on the growth and expansion of critical trends and methodologies, this book offers an introduction to the literary theory in North America. With essays addressing key figures in their historical and cultural contexts, it depicts the change, transformation, and the quest for and affirmation of multiple cultural voices and identities.
The Routledge Companion to Critical Theory (ebook) by
By exploring ideas from a diverse range of disciplines, ‘theory’ encourages us to develop a deeper understanding of how we approach the written word. This book defines what is generically referred to as ‘critical theory’, and guides readers through some of the most complex and fundamental concepts in the field, ranging from Historicism to Postmodernism, from Psychoanalytic Criticism to Race and Postcoloniality.
Fully cross referenced throughout, the book encompasses manageable introductions to important ideas followed by a dictionary of terms and thinkers which students are likely to encounter. Further reading is offered to guide students to crucial primary essays and introductory chapters on each concept. (description from Google Books)
Literary Criticism: An Introduction to Theory and Practice (printed) by
The second edition of Literary Criticism by Charles E. Bressler is designed to help readers make conscious, informed, and intelligent choices concerning literary interpretation. By explaining the historical development and theoretical positions of eleven schools of criticism, author Charles Bressler reveals the richness of literary texts along with the various interpretative approaches that will lead to a fuller appreciation and understanding of such texts.
The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature (ebook) by
The written word is one of the defining elements of Christian experience. As vigorous in the 1st century as it is in the 21st, Christian literature has had a significant function in history, and teachers and students need to be reminded of this powerful literary legacy. Covering 2,000 years, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature is the first encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books. In addition to an overview of the Christian literature, this two-volume set also includes 40 essays on the principal genres of Christian literature and more than 400 bio-bibliographical essays describing the principal writers and their works. These essays examine the evolution of Christian thought as reflected in the literature of every age.The companion volume also features bibliographies, an index, a timeline of Christian Literature, and a list of the greatest Christian authors. The encyclopedia will appeal not only to scholars and Christian evangelicals, but students and teachers in seminaries and theological schools, as well as to the growing body of Christian readers and bibliophiles.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales (ebook) by
CLICK "FULL TEXT."
Provides alphabetically arranged entries on folk and fairy tales from around the world, including information on authors, subjects, themes, characters, and national traditions.
Literary Conceptualizations of Growth (ebook) by
CLICK "FULL TEXT" AT BOTTOM LEFT.
Literary Conceptualizations of Growth explores those processes through which maturation is represented in adolescent literature by examining how concepts of growth manifest themselves in adolescent literature and by interrogating how the concept of growth structures scholars'ability to think about adolescence. Cognitive literary theory provides the theoretical framework, as do the related fields of cognitive linguistics and experiential philosophy; historical constructions of the concept of growth are also examined within the context of the history of ideas. Cross-cultural literature from the traditional Bildungsroman to the contemporary Young Adult novel serve as examples. Literary Conceptualizations of Growth ultimately asserts that human cognitive structures are responsible for the pervasiveness of growth as both a metaphor and a narrative pattern in adolescent literature.
The Hero's Journey (ebook) by
Provides an examination of the hero's journey as a plot device in classic literary works.
Dictionary of Literary Influences (ebook) by
Treating the cultural giants of the 20th century, this volume traces their reading habits and intellectual development, as well as their contributions to Western culture. Suggesting the literary influences on these figures, the book includes 355 entries on people from a broad range of fields, including scientists, politicians, business figures, writers, religious leaders, and figures from the performing arts and popular culture.
The volume is a handy companion to Powell's earlier volume, Biographical Dictionary of Literary Influences: The Nineteenth Century, 1800-1914. Reflecting non-Western influences on Western culture, the volume includes such Asian and African figures as Mohandas Gandhi and Wole Soyinka, while also covering the significant Western figures. As the volume recognizes, forms of cultural influence evolved in the 20th century to include more aural and visual influences. Yet the volume still reveals fascinating literary influences throughout the century. (description from publisher)
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers (ebook) by
African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. The Encyclopedia covers established contemporary authors such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, along with a range of neglected and emerging figures. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a brief biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Literature students will value this book for its exploration of African American literature, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of social issues through literature.
African American women writers have made an enormous contribution to our culture. Many of these authors wrote during the Harlem Renaissance, a particularly vital time in African American arts and letters, while others have been especially active since the 1970s, an era in which works by African American women are adapted into films and are widely read in book clubs. Literature by African American women is important for its aesthetic qualities, and it also illuminates the social issues which these authors have confronted. This book conveniently surveys the lives and works of African American women writers.
Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 African American women novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. Some of these figures, such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, are among the most popular authors writing today, while others have been largely neglected or are recently emerging.
Each entry provides a biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The Encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Students and general readers will welcome this guide to the rich achievement of African American women. Literature students will value its exploration of the works of these writers, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of the social issues these women confront in their works.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature (ebook) by
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols (ebook) by
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than'universal'psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Michael Ferber has assembled nearly two hundred entries clearly explaining and illustrating the literary symbols that we all encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The Dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures. Its informed style and rich references will make this book an essential tool not only for literary and classical scholars, but for all students of literature.
Forms (printed book) by
"Forms offers a powerful new answer to one of the most pressing problems facing literary, critical, and cultural studies today--how to connect form to political, social, and historical context. Caroline Levine argues that forms organize not only works of art but also political life--and our attempts to know both art and politics. Inescapable and frequently troubling, forms shape every aspect of our experience. But forms don't impose their order in any simple way. Multiple shapes, patterns, and arrangements, overlapping and colliding, generate complex and unpredictable social landscapes that challenge and unsettle conventional analytic models in literary and cultural studies. Borrowing the concept of "affordances" from design theory, this book investigates the specific ways that four major forms--wholes, rhythms, hierarchies, and networks--have structured culture, politics, and scholarly knowledge across periods, and it proposes exciting new ways of linking formalism to historicism and literature to politics. Levine rereads both formalist and antiformalist theorists, including Cleanth Brooks, Michel Foucault, Jacques Ranciere, Mary Poovey, and Judith Butler, and she offers engaging accounts of a wide range of objects, from medieval convents and modern theme parks to Sophocles's Antigone and the television series The Wire. The result is a radically new way of thinking about form for the next generation and essential reading for scholars and students across the humanities who must wrestle with the problem of form and context"-- Provided by publisher.
The New Criticism (ebook) by
This volume covers a variety of authors and topics related to the New Criticism school of the 1920s–1950s in America. Contributors trace the history of the New Criticism as a movement, consider theoretical and practical aspects of various proponents, and assess the record of subsequent engagement with its tenets. The volume will prove valuable for its renewed concentration not only on the New Critics themselves, but also on the way they and their work have been contextualized, criticized, and valorized by theorists and educators during and after their period of greatest influence, both in the United States and abroad.
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature (ebook) by
A breathtaking achievement, this Concise Companion is a suitable crown to the astonishing production in African American literature and criticism that has swept over American literary studies in the last two decades. It offers an enormous range of writers-from Sojourner Truth to Frederick Douglass, from Zora Neale Hurston to Ralph Ellison, and from Toni Morrison to August Wilson. It contains entries on major works (including synopses of novels), such as Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Richard Wright's Native Son, and Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun. It also incorporates information on literary characters such as Bigger Thomas, Coffin Ed Johnson, Kunta Kinte, Sula Peace, as well as on character types such as Aunt Jemima, Brer Rabbit, John Henry, Stackolee, and the trickster. Icons of black culture are addressed, including vivid details about the lives of Muhammad Ali, John Coltrane, Marcus Garvey, Jackie Robinson, John Brown, and Harriet Tubman. Here, too, are general articles on poetry, fiction, and drama; on autobiography, slave narratives, Sunday School literature, and oratory; as well as on a wide spectrum of related topics. Compact yet thorough, this handy volume gathers works from a vast array of sources--from the black periodical press to women's clubs--making it one of the most substantial guides available on the growing, exciting world of African American literature.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural (printed) by
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach. Volumes include a glossary of frequent terms, a list of works on that approach to literature, a bibliography and an index. (description from Google Books)
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural (ebook) by
This book both explores multicultural approaches to a wide range of literature. It defines multiculturalism in very broad terms, using it to refer not only to different ethnic and racial cultures but also to different historical periods, and exploring cultural differences involving such matters as physical disability, sexual orientation, particular social roles, distinct stages of life, and specific kinds of language usage.
Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics: Censorship, Revolution and Writing (ebook) by
Explores the complex relationship between literature and politics, from ancient Greece to the present - especially conflicts and controversies of the modern world and works written in English. 3 vols.
This link opens in a new windowLiterature and Politics Today (ebook) by
"Focusing on the intersection of literature and politics since the beginning of the 20th century, this book examines authors, historical figures, major literary and political works, national literatures, and literary movements to reveal the intrinsic links between literature and history"-- Provided by publisher.
"This encyclopedia brings together a wide variety of information on the relationship between literature and politics in a conveniently accessible encyclopedia format"-- Provided by publisher.
Marxist Literary Criticism Today (printed) by
A compelling and accessible textbook by one of the world's pre-eminent literary critics
Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes (printed) by
"The more than 450 entries in this volume survey the most important protest works of our time as well as the classics. Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors and Themes discusses the lives and concerns of more than 100 writers, analyzes each work's themes, content, and targeted social problems; provides plot synopses and character sketches; demonstrates how major literary creations represent specific ideologies; and explores key social protest concepts in the context of historical events and social and cultural milieus." "Extensive cross-references direct readers to other works with similar themes, and a comprehensive bibliography suggests further reading. Offering insights into how various cultures have addressed the same societal problems, the encyclopedia is a valuable reference guide and teaching aid." (description from book jacket)
Critical Approaches to Literature: Feminist (ebook) by
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach. Volumes include a glossary of frequent terms, a list of works on that approach to literature, a bibliography and an index. (description from Google Books)
Critical Approaches to Literature: Feminist (printed) by
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach. Volumes include a glossary of frequent terms, a list of works on that approach to literature, a bibliography and an index. (description from Google Books)
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature (printed)
What’s in this print book? A-to-Z guide covering feminist authors, literary works, and other related topics from around the world and in a number of fiction and nonfiction genres.
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage (ebook) by
The revised edition of The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage is a reader's companion to this impressive body of work. It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions. Included are nearly 400 alphabetically arranged articles by more than 175 scholars from around the world. New articles in this volume feature authors such as Michael Cunningham, Tony Kushner, Anne Lister, Kate Millet, Jan Morris, Terrence McNally, and Sarah Waters; essays on topics such as Comedy of Manners and Autobiography; and overviews of Danish, Norwegian, Philippines, and Swedish literatures; as well as updated and revised articles and bibliographies.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Psychological (printed) by
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach. Volumes include a glossary of frequent terms, a list of works on that approach to literature, a bibliography and an index. (description from Google Books)
Critical Approaches to Literature: Psychological (ebook) by
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach. Volumes include a glossary of frequent terms, a list of works on that approach to literature, a bibliography and an index. (description from Google Books)
Characters on the Couch (ebook) by
Providing intriguing insights for students, film buffs, and readers of various genres of fiction, this fascinating book delves into the psychology of 100 well-known fictional characters.• Provides an engaging and entertaining way to learn about both positive psychology and mental health issues through the behavior of interesting and often familiar characters, leading to a better understanding of human behavior• Helps readers distinguish realistic depictions of psychological disorders from inaccurate ones, providing a basis for avoiding negative mental health stereotypes and stigma associated with mental illness• Covers a wide range of behaviors and psychological disorders arranged in a convenient format, making it easy to find and learn about particular topics that can be read in or out of order
This video from Hogeschool Rotterdam (the University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands) provides an overview of biographical criticism in less than five minutes.
This video from Hogeschool Rotterdam (the University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands) provides an overview of formalist criticism in less than eleven minutes.
This video from Hogeschool Rotterdam (the University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands) provides an overview of historical criticism in less than eight minutes.
In less than five minutes, this video demonstrates just one literary archetype — the hero archetype — using Katniss of The Hunger Games, Frodo of The Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter as examples. Find questions and discussion of this video in a TEDEd lesson. Keep in mind that there are lots of other archetypes, too, but this video shows how archetypes work in that many works of literature can follow the same essential patterns or use familiar character types.
This fifteen-minute video from the University of London demonstrates how to analyze Mary Shelley's Frankenstein using three different critical approaches: psychological, feminist, and Marxist.
To search for resources, click the "SEARCH" tab above. For more information on ways to analyze literature, hover over the arrow of the "Genres" tab above and choose your work's genre from the drop-down list or click the "Critical Approaches" ("Crit Apprchs") and "(Literary) Periods" tabs above. Information on writing a literary analysis can be found by hovering over the "Writing" tab and choosing "Rhetorical Modes" from the drop-down list. For library assistance, tech support, and tutoring, click "Help!"
If you find a broken link, please email the URLs of the link and this page to jbielecki@hccfl.edu.
HCCFL.EDU 813.253.7000 HCC Libraries Website Feedback Privacy Statement Equity and Diversity Office Fraud Hotline Jobs © 2024 | All rights reserved
