Poetry - ENC 1102 - Bielecki (Ybor City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Poetry Criticism: Reference Books

Use these literature reference books to find historical background, author information, critical analyses, and much more. These books are for use in the library only.

Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
Call Number: REF PN1022.H39
What's in this print book?
Subject organization of the poems is especially useful. Poems are indexed by relevant topics, e.g. "racism."
Critical Survey of Poetry
Call Number: REF PN 1110.5 .M37 2011
What's in this print book series?
Covers poets and their works.Topical Essays (2 vols.) includes themes.
Cumulative Indexes (1 vol.) are by country, name, category, and subject – and a chronological list of poets, major awards and recipients, a time line, list of online resources, and a bibliography.
Masterplots II. Poetry series
Call Number: REF PN 1110.5 .M37 2002
What's in this print book series?

Covers classic to contemporary poets. Articles are in alphabetical order by poem title. Volume 8 includes a Glossary of poetic terms -- and Indexes: Geographical and Ethnic, Type of Poem, Author, and Title.
World Poets
Call Number: REF PN1021 .W67 2000
What's in this print book?

Essays on the most studied poets and genres. For example: - Indigenous and Tribal Poetry- Harlem Renaissance Poetry- Asian American Poetry.

Poetry Criticism: Reference eBooks

Use these online literature reference books to find historical background, author information, critical analyses, and much more about many poems. Log-in instructions are on the "Home" tab.

Poetry for Students (ebook)
How to use this ebook
After you log in, type the title of your work in the search box on the right, directly below the word, Tools. Looks like this. Be sure to type the title correctly. If the title is one word, add the author's last name. If your poem is covered in this reference, an article about it will likely appear in the very first results.
Critical Survey of Poetry: Topical Essays (ebook) by Rosemary M. Canfield Reisman (Editor) What's in this ebook series? Covers poets and their works. Topical Essays includes themes.
Call Number: SLCSPTE
ISBN: 158765766X
Publication Date: 2011

Poetry Criticism: Helpful Websites (NOT Peer-Reviewed Sources)

Analyzing Poetry: Texas A&M University A detailed explanation of how to analyze works of poetry
How to Read a Poem: University of Wisconsin-Madison A brief, step-by-step guide on how to analyze poetry
Poetry Explications: UNC at Chapel Hill A brief, step-by-step guide on how to analyze poetry
Writing About Poetry: Purdue University An overview of how to analyze and write about poetry

Research and Library Help

Need More?

To search for resources, click the "SEARCH" tab above. For more information on ways to analyze literature, hover over the arrow of the "Genres" tab above and choose your work's genre from the drop-down list or click the "Critical Approaches" ("Crit Apprchs") and "(Literary) Periods" tabs above. Information on writing a literary analysis can be found by hovering over the "Writing" tab and choosing "Rhetorical Modes" from the drop-down list. For library assistance, tech support, and tutoring, click "Help!"

If you find a broken link, please email the URLs of the link and this page to jbielecki@hccfl.edu.

ENC 1102 - Bielecki (Ybor City): Poetry

Literary Criticism: Poetry

Poetry Criticism: Reference Books

Poetry Criticism: Reference eBooks

Poetry Criticism: Helpful Websites (NOT Peer-Reviewed Sources)

Research and Library Help

Need More?