Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Freeman (Plant City): Lorraine Hansberry

Course LibGuide for students in Dr. Freeman's ENC 1102 course

Search HCC Libraries Online Catalog

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Books about Hansberry

Selected books and ebooks about Lorraine Hansberry.  EBOOKS are available online with a HCC Student ID. Please see Logging Into HCC Libraries Online for more information. 

Literary Database Tips

Gale Literature Criticism 

This database presents articles that include biographical information about authors. Type Hansberry, Lorraine and choose it from the pull down menu.  Change Basic Search to Person-By or About.  Check mark Full Text and click search.

Screenshot of Literature Criticism Online Advanced Search box with Hansberry, Lorraine as Person by or About

Biography in Context

From the home page of this database:

  1. Choose Advanced Search 
  2. In the Top Header, choose Person Search
  3. Type Lorraine Hansberry at the Name box
  4. Choose Search

Screenshot of Biography in Context Person Search as Lorraine Hansberry in search term box

Search Tips about an Author

The database called Gale Literary Sources can be used in several different ways.  To find information about a particular author, use either the Person Search tool or type the author's name in the Person-By or About box.  Make sure Full Text is checked and choose Search for your results.  Use the tools on the right side of the results page to narrow results.

Screenshot of Gale Literary Source Advanced Search page with "Hansberry, Lorraine" in Person-by or About

Bloom's Literature

When needing to find articles on a specific author, try using this approach in Bloom's. 

  1. On the home page, choose Browse from the Header and then choose Authors under Full Indexes.
    1.   screenshot of Browse Header, Full Indexes and Authors navigation buttons
  2. Results page defaults to Most Studied Authors. 
  3. Choose All Authors from the Header.
  4. Type Hansberry in the search box.
    1. Screenshot of Author Index, All Authors, Quick Find Hansberry, Lorraine in the search box
    2. Choose Hansberry, Lorraine from the names that automatically populate as you type in your author's name.

Literary Reference Center

When searching for information about an author in the Literary Reference Center Plus database, try using the Browse Author feature. 

1.  Choose Browse Authors in the top header

screenshot of Literature Reference Header with Browse Authors highlighted

2. Type Hansberry, Lorraine in the Browse for search box.

Screenshot of LRC Plus Author Browse A-Z option with Hansberry, Lorraine in the Browse search box

3.  Choose Browse and open the results by choosing the author's name in the results list.