Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Freeman (Plant City): Susan Glaspell

Course LibGuide for students in Dr. Freeman's ENC 1102 course

Search HCC Libraries Online Catalog

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Books about Glaspell

Selected books and eBooks about Susan Glaspell.  EBOOKS are available online with a HCC Student ID. Please see Logging Into HCC Libraries Online for more information. 

Literature Database Tips

Gale Literature Criticism 

This database presents articles that include biographical information about authors. Type Glaspell, Susan in the search box and change Basic Search to Person-By or About in the Pull Down menu.  Choose the Full Text option and then search.

Screenshot of Gale Literature Criticism Online Advanced Search with Glaspell, Susan in Person-by or About

Biography in Context

From the home page of this database, click on Advanced Search.  In the Header, choose Person Search.  Type in Susan Glaspell at the Name box and then Search.

Screenshot of Gale in Context Biography Person Search with Glaspell, Susan in the search box

Search Tips about an Author

The database called Gale Literature can be used in several different ways.  To find information about a particular author, use either the Person Search tool or type the author's name in the Person-By or About box.  Make sure Full  Text is checked and click Search for your results.  Use the tools on the right side of the results page to narrow results.

Screenshot with Gale Literary Sources having Glaspell, Susan as Person by or About and Full Text box checked.

 

Hint: Sign in to your HCC Microsoft Office 365 account (found in top header of this database) to store articles in OneDrive.

Bloom's Literature

When needing to find articles on a specific author, try using this approach in Bloom's. 

  1. On the home page, choose Browse from the Header and then choose Authors under Full Indexes.
    1.   screenshot of Browse Header, Full Indexes and Authors navigation buttons
  2. Results page defaults to Most Studied Authors. 
  3. Choose All Authors from the Header.
  4. Type Glaspell in the search box.
    1. Screenshot of Bloom's Literature with Browse Author and type Glaspell, Susan and choose her name from pulldown

Literary Reference Center

When searching for information about an author in the Literary Reference Center Plus database, try using the Browse Author feature. 

1.  Choose Browse Authors in the top header

Screenshot of the Literary Reference Center Advanced Search page with Browse Authors highlighted with a square box

2. Type Glaspell, Susan in the Browse for search box.  

Screenshot of the Browse Search box in Literary Reference Center with Glaspell, Susan typed in the search box.