Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Freeman (Plant City): MLA Citation Tools

Course LibGuide for students in Dr. Freeman's ENC 1102 course

MLA Citation Assignment

Resources to use for this assignment

When looking for resources to complete this assignment, look at the boxes below for which databases are good to use based on what type of resource is needed. For example, articles about Kate Chopin, use one of the literature databases.

You can also use other pages in this LibGuide (Research Guide) to help find resources for this assignment.  Under the Stories and Plays pull down menu, you can find individual author pages.  

Types of resources to use in the databases:

  • Academic Journal articles

 

Search HCC Libraries with Primo

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Log-in first for best results!

MLA Citation Exercise

Tips for your MLA Citation Exercise Assignment

This assignment is intended to help you get acquainted with creating MLA citations. Below you will find tips for finding the materials that you need to cite. In the box called MLA Citation Tools, you will find a variety of resources that assist with creating MLA Citations.

Any time you are asked to locate a book, you will use the Library Catalog

HINT:  

  1. When searching the library catalog for books, make sure you checkmark the box next to "Books in the Library" under the Filter Results By column to the left of the Library Catalog results screen.
  2. Depending on the topic - you will locate articles in the several different databases.  See the boxes below in the left and right columns for database suggestions.  
  3. Many databases have a "cite this" feature that is useful for helping to construct MLA citations.

 

Literature Databases to Use

Literature Databases

The databases listed below are excellent sources to use when needing to find critiques or literary criticisms, literary analysis, character and plot summaries, thematic information.

Questions 1.a and 4 and 10 on the MLA Citation Exercise Assignment can be answered using one of the following literature databases.

General Databases

General Information Databases

The following databases are good ones to use when you aren't sure what database to use.  These databases cover a large variety of topics.  Search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Databases

The following databases listed can be used to find newspaper articles from local, Tampa and Florida newspapers as well as newspapers around the United States.  

Reference

Dictionary 

The following resource is excellent to use when needing to find the meaning of a word, etymology of a word.