Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Freeman (Plant City): Comparison/Contrast Essay

Course LibGuide for students in Dr. Freeman's ENC 1102 course

Assignment Instructions

Search HCC Libraries with Primo

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Log-in first for best results!

Social Themes in Literature (books)

Stories and Plays

Tips for finding sources

Tips for finding information about specific works and authors is available. These stories and authors may or may not be appropriate for this assignment.

Kate Chopin

Lorraine Hansberry

Susan Glaspell

William Shakespeare

Resources for the Comparison/Contrast Essay

Articles from Databases

By using these online databases, you will find literary criticism about some of the short stories and plays you are studying in your class. Click on the title of the database below and enter your Student ID Number and your PIN (last four digits of your Student ID Number) to access each of the databases.  See the Logging into HCC Libraries page in this LibGuide for more log in information.

Tips on using databases to find literary information

Bloom's Literature

"This database includes thousands of critical essays, author biographies and character analyses, the full content of hundreds of books from our extensive reference collection and more than 800 classic works of literature...".

Example:

  1. Click on Browse (in the top header) and
  2. Scroll to Characters in Topic Centers
  3. Type Hamlet at the Characters by Work search box
  4. Choose Ophelia from the Pull Down Menu
    1. Gertrude is listed as Queen Gertrude

Gale Literary Sources 

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles authors and their works. 

Example:

  1. Type Ophelia in the "Basic Search" box. As the Search Assist box populates, choose "Ophelia (Hamlet) (Fictional Character)".  
  2. Under More Options check full text.
  3. Click Search.

After reviewing and selecting an article from the results, go back to the Advanced Search page and type Gertrude in the "Basic Search" box.  As the Search Assist box populates, scroll through the options and choose "Gertrude (Hamlet) (Fictional Charaacter)".

Literary Reference Center Plus

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about authors and their works.  Some information will overlap with that in the Gale Literary Sources.

Example:

  1. Type Ophelia in the first box,
  2. Hamlet in the second box and
  3. Shakespeare in the third box.
  4. Under Limit your results, choose Full Text.
  5. Choose Search.

After reviewing and selecting an article from the results, go back to the Advanced Search page and type Gertrude in the first box and choose search.