OER By Discipline

The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.

This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e.

In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics). All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures, and graphics are heavily utilized throughout the resource.

The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Online Homework Manager (OHM), etc.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Online Homework Manager (OHM), etc.

The course contains a full semester of lectures interspersed with concept quizzes, practice problems and virtual lab activities. The course is broken up by topic into units and modules.

It includes extensive and engaging practice for students including: problems with detailed feedback, adaptive exercises, simulations, interactive examples, and virtual lab activities.

It includes extensive and engaging practice for students including: problems with detailed feedback, adaptive exercises, simulations, interactive examples, and virtual lab activities.

Surveys the metric system, scientific notation and significant figures, the atom and atomic theories, trends of the periodic table of the elements, bonding, molecular geometry, chemical formulas, stoichiometry, gas laws, thermochemistry, and thermodynamics. Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.

The Chemistry Department is a part of The College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (LSA), the heart of the University of Michigan, and an extraordinary center of creativity, inquiry, and discovery.

Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.

We keep the library up-to-date, so you may find new or improved material here over time. The use of Khan Academy and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other Terms of Use.

Includes 4 units on science in sequential order; linked is the first one.

The current generation of tutorials (currently in development) are based upon HTML5 and run on most modern web browsers.