MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Educational content originally curated by Boundless, imported to the Lumen Platform. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
It includes sections on grammar and mechanics, editing, formatting, academic citation and research documentation, including the latest MLA and APA style guidelines.
Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors: the students in your class. By Shane Abrams, Portland State University.
The Process of Research Writing is a web-based research writing textbook (or is that textweb?) suitable for teachers and students in research oriented composition and rhetoric classes. It's published/maintained by me, Steven D. Krause.
This textbook guides students through rhetorical and assignment analysis, the writing process, researching, citing, rhetorical modes, and critical reading.
Guided by Oregon's statewide college writing outcomes, this book collects previously published articles, essays, and chapters released under Creative Commons licenses into one free textbook available for online access or print-on-demand.
It is intended as a high-school and college-level introduction to the central concepts of narrative theory that will aid students in developing their competence not only in analyzing and interpreting short stories and novels, but also in writing them.
Designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them.
A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids.
Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond to more advanced engagement with text.
The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes.
The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes.
These textbooks are either in use at academic institutions or have been produced by subject matter experts affiliated with academic or professional institutions.
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
These textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
These textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
American Literature I (1650–1860) examines significant literary works of early American and Puritan literature, the Enlightenment, American Romanticism, and pre-Civil War era.
In this course, students learn about critical thinking, analysis, argumentation, reflection, and making sound rhetorical choices to write effective academic essays.
Multimedia course. See beneath the surface of 13 great works of world literature that have traveled the globe with this course resource for teachers, students, and lovers of literature.
Multimedia course. Learn research, practice, and tools for integrating discipline literacy into mathematics, science, English, and history/social studies content based lessons.
This free course will give you an insight into how authors create their characters and settings. You will also be able to look at the different genres for fiction.
1. How Do Communities Shape Writing?
2. Understanding and Joining Academic Communities
3. How Readers Read and Writers Write
4. Writing Processes and Practices
Technical Writing teaches the organization, development, and refinement of technical communications, with an emphasis on business context and practical application.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Undergraduate courses are designed to develop students’ understanding of important works of English, American, and other literatures and to provide historical perspectives from which to read and analyze these works.
Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.
Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.
This book is a free and open resource for composition instructors and students, full of essays that could supplement OER rhetoric and writing texts that lack readings.
The Modernist Journals Project digitizes English-language literary magazines from the 1890s to the 1920s, and also offer essays and other supporting materials from the period.
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Read, borrow, and discover more than 3M books for free.
Open Modernisms is an open, Creative-Commons-licensed online platform that allows teachers and scholars to build custom anthologies of out-of-copyright primary materials for the period 1850–1950.
It uses a custom-built Islandora module to host a library of documents from which users can select and rearrange in whatever order they like; add their own notes and introductory or contextualizing materials; and output in a numbered sequence of files for digital distribution and/or printing. The site and its materials are open access, and the code for the site, based on already-existing open-source software, is hosted on Github for easy repurposing and distribution.
Billboarding itself as "An Experiment in Literary Technology", Open Source Shakespeare contains the full text of Shakespeare's complete Plays, Sonnets, and Poems.
This reading anthology is a curated collection of openly licensed full-text essays and stories on a variety of subjects, designed to be used for discussions and writing assignments.
This anthology is a curated collection of openly licensed primary texts, organized thematically, designed to be used as a reader in English composition courses.
Includes personal essays, literature, video and audio files, Web writings, and long-form journalism, along with customizable assignments and instructor resources.
It's flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal "there/they're/their" struggle to correct colon use. Units are organized from most simple to most challenging.
This collection offers information on materials, critical approaches and ideas, and pedagogical resources for the teaching of fairy tales in one comprehensive source that will further help bring fairy-tale studies into the academic mainstream.
Designed to supplement college composition courses, it focuses on the rhetorical content and strategies that are the baseline of effective college writing but also tend to give students trouble.
Learn to identify word meanings, recognize information & ideas, analyze information, and synthesize & interpret information with an interactive simulation.
Learn to distinguish literary passages from informational ones, use the points on a plotline to understand and analyze a story, and use comprehension strategies to answer questions about a literary passage.
HCCFL.EDU 813.253.7000 HCC Libraries Website Feedback Privacy Statement Equity and Diversity Office Fraud Hotline Jobs