LibGuides: OER By Discipline: Engineering

OER Collections

American Society for Engineering Education. Open Textbooks for Engineering
An extensive list of open textbooks in engineering arranged by categories such as biomedical, civil, environmental, mechanical, etc.
JSTOR Open Content — Engineering
Thousands of Open Access ebooks are available from top scholarly publishers. Focus on high-quality content, ease of use, and digital preservation.
MERLOT — Engineering
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons — Engineering
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and other course material for the study of engineering.

Textbooks

"A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering" — OpenStax
This book was written for an experimental freshman course at the University of Colorado.
"Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation" — Open Textbook Library
Explores essential concepts from "engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities."
BCcampus OpenEd Textbooks — Engineering
Open textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection come in multiple formats.
more...less...
Many can be read online or delivered via PDF, EPUB (for most e-readers) and MOBI (for Kindle) format for free, or can be printed via our print-on-demand service for a nominal fee.
IntechOpen Textbooks — Engineering
The world's leading publisher of Open Access books built by scientists, for scientists.
LibreTexts — Engineering Bookshelves
This central Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes for use in Course Shells housed in Campus Bookshelves.
MERLOT — Engineering Textbooks
National Academies Press — Engineering and Technology
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes authoritative reports issued by The National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM).
OER Commons — Engineering Textbooks
Open Research Library — Technology & Engineering Textbooks
Open Textbook Library — Engineering Textbooks
Explore a number of OER textbooks on basic blueprint reading, traffic flow theory, bio-inspired sensory systems, industrial engineering, electrical & computer engineering, mechanical, and other areas.
PB Pressbooks — Engineering
Pressbooks supports blended and online learning with an intuitive authoring platform for educational material, an extensive directory of public books and open educational resources (OER), and secure methods of delivering content to learning management systems (LMS).
Project Gutenberg — Books in Engineering
SUNY Milne Open Textbooks — Engineering
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Courses

"Computational Electronics" from Arizona State University — NanoHub
The objective of this class is to introduce the students to all semi-classical semiconductor device modeling techniques that are implemented in either commercial or publicly available software.
LibreTexts — Engineering Courses
The Campus Bookshelves area holds campus-specific and faculty-specific course shells.
more...less...
Each shell is customized to address the needs of faculty and their students and typically contains text remixes (i. e., texts generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) that students and faculty can directly access for their class activities.
MERLOT — Engineering Online Courses
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
MIT OpenCourseWare — Engineering Courses
MIT OpenCourseWare makes the materials used in the teaching of almost all of MIT's subjects available on the Web, free of charge.
Open Learning Initiative — Technology Courses
Carnegie Mellon University's courses - some are completely free - Mechatronics technology - NSC STEM Pathways; Environmental Technology; Electric Vehicle Technology, and others
Open Michigan — Engineering Courses
The College of Engineering has 11 departments where engineers' research spans from quantum dots to interplanetary spacecraft, from picowatt microchip to petawatt lasers.
Saylor Legacy Courses
These courses are inactive but available as resources. Listed in ABC order by department code.

Supplementary Materials & Tools

Reading & Writing in the Disciplines: Science
Learn research, practice, and tools for integrating discipline literacy into mathematics, science, English, and history/social studies content based lessons.
more...less...
Includes 4 units on science in sequential order; linked is the first one.
Writing Center Tips & Tools: Writing for the Sciences
From UNC at Chapel Hill.
Wolfram Alpha: Engineering
Compute expert-level answers using Wolfram’s breakthrough algorithms, knowledgebase and AI technology.

Simulations

LearnChemE
From University of Colorado, Boulder. See screencasts, interactive simulations for chemical engineering, etc.