MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis (QUBES) is a community of individuals and organizations committed to accelerating STEM education reform. Supported by our social-cyberinfrastructure and commitment to teaching quantitative skills, we work to make sure that our teaching is effective, open, accessible, equitable, and inclusive.
Online educational resource for educators, students, and parents. Access reliable, cutting-edge information and educational tools for biology and related subjects.
The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
BI101A is a survey course that introduces the discipline of cellular biology, exploring topics including the scientific method, parts of a cell, and how cells function.
BI102A is a survey course that introduces the discipline of molecular biology and genetics, exploring topics including cell division, protein production, inheritance and gene regulation.
Inside the Cell is a science education booklet that explores the interior design of cells and vividly describes the processes that take place within its organelles and structures.
This Microbiology textbook, adapted from the Boundless version, is intended to provide health care professionals with a working knowledge of infectious disease.
The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
The Principles of Biology sequence (BI 211, 212 and 213) introduces biology as a scientific discipline for students planning to major in biology and other science disciplines.
Laboratories and classroom activities introduce techniques used to study biological processes and provide opportunities for students to develop their ability to conduct research.
This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week.
The New Genetics is a science education booklet that explains the role of genes in health and disease, the basics of DNA and its molecular cousin RNA, and new directions in genetic research.
From Virginia Tech Publishing and the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. This textbook includes six sections: Biosystems Engineering: Energy Systems; Information Technology, Sensors, and Control Systems; Machinery Systems; Natural Resources and Environmental Systems; Plant, Animal, and Facility Systems; and Processing Systems.
The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes.
These textbooks are either in use at academic institutions or have been produced by subject matter experts affiliated with academic or professional institutions.
These textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
The first of a two-course sequence, this course provides a strong foundation of the principles of biology for students majoring in the life sciences, medical, and healthcare fields.
The second in a two-course sequence, this gateway biology course provides a strong foundation in principles of biology for students majoring in life science, medical, and healthcare fields.
Introduces students to the basics of the scientific process, the chemical foundations of life, cell structure and function, photosynthesis, cellular respiration, genetics and inheritance, and evolution.
Covers topics surrounding the history and diversity of life, including discussion on the different kingdoms of life, with focus on plants and animals, as well as an introduction to ecology.
Detailed introduction to molecular biology, including proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, and nucleic acids, water, and other compounds that make up the cell.
Particular emphasis on the cell membrane, mitosis and meiosis, genetics and gene expression, transcription and translation, and cellular metabolism. Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.
Course shells are customized to address the needs of faculty and their students and typically contains text remixes that students and faculty can directly access for their class activities.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
The EEB department offers courses in conservation biology, human genetic variation and evolution, the history of life, animal behavior, and field ecology.
Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.
MCDB offers courses in six areas: biochemistry, molecular biology, and chemical biology; cellular and developmental biology; genetics; neurobiology; plant sciences; and biotechnology.
Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.
Please note that not all images are Public Domain or under Creative Common licenses; some are copyrighted. Licenses are posted below the images on their description pages.
Illustrations and animations may be downloaded in the Resources for Educators section. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. Users can upload any file format and tag their content with CC licenses.
iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made.
Learn research, practice, and tools for integrating discipline literacy into mathematics, science, English, and history/social studies content based lessons.
Researchers and educators designed Avida-ED to help students learn about evolution and scientific methods by allowing them to design and perform experiments to test hypotheses about evolutionary mechanisms using evolving digital organisms.
This set of Biology I lab assignments ensures students have the opportunity to apply the concepts and information they learn as they work through Lumen Biology I course content.
This set of Biology II lab assignments ensures students have the opportunity to apply the concepts and information they learn as they work through Lumen Biology II course content.
These simulations allow students to experiment with concepts that may take too much time or too many resources to complete in a traditional science lab setting.
BioMan Biology is the fun place to learn Biology! Here you will find learning games, review games, virtual labs and quizzes that will help you to learn about cells, ecology, genetics, physiology, and much more.
Case studies that track the evolution of traits from their origination in DNA mutation, to the production of different proteins, to the fixation of alternate macroscopic phenotypes in reproductively isolated populations.
StarGenetics allows students to simulate mating experiments between organisms that are genetically different across a range of traits to analyze the nature of the traits in question.
