LibGuides: Storage guide: Ready-To-Go Boxes for Primary Sources

Art & Art History

Databases:

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly articles from international peer-reviewed journals, discussing art and architecture across eras, regions, and artists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Artstor
Images in a wide array of subjects from museums, archives, scholars, and artists around the world, rights-cleared education and research. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)
Online access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes, covering all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license.

Online Collections:

Florida Memory: State Library and Archives of Florida
Includes photo and video collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Art & Architecture
Getty Open Content Program
~4600 public domain images representing the most frequently requested works from the Getty Museum.
Louvre Museum
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Morgan Library & Museum
Museum of Modern Art
National Gallery, London
National Gallery of Art
Rijksmuseum Collection
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Yale Center for British Art
Yale University Art Gallery

Literature

Databases:

LitFinder (Gale)
Full text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Online Collections:

DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) Palace Bookshelf
Open Bookshelf is a digital library collection of popular openly-licensed books free to download, formatted for modern devices.
Manybooks
Great selection of modern and classic books. All free and available in most ereader formats.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Read, borrow, and discover more than 3M books for free.
Project Gutenberg
Provides e-texts of books in the public domain (including classic literature) available to download in plain text or ZIP files. The site is searchable and browsable by title and author.

Film & Theater

Databases:

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
BBC Shakespeare Plays (Ambrose)
The complete dramatic works of William Shakespeare as presented on television by the British Broadcasting Corporation. Funded by HCC Libraries perpetual license.
Dance Online: Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming videos of dance productions and documentaries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Digital Theatre+
Theatre resource with video of plays & productions and resources for practice & practitioners and theory & criticism. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Videos covering a wide range of subjects across the spectrum of college and university curricula. Include public performance rights for use in educational settings. Funding source: Statewide allocation
LitFinder (Gale)
Full text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Swank Digital Campus
A streaming platform for popular film, documentaries, and television shows. Faculty may request additions to the collection. Funding source: HCC
Search tips
1. Browse movies by genre on the homepage; the genre banners show up to 25 titles with a “see all” button.
2. Or, use the search bar at the top of the screen to look up a title or person. Click on a movie, then click Watch or Trailer.
More tips
Options for language and subtitles are in the vertical three-dot menu button at the bottom right corner of the player.
Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Near DVD quality online access to theatrical productions. Can be useful for both theatre and drama, and English literature study. Funding source: HCC. Video Tutorials are on this page.

Online Collections:

Health Sciences & Nursing

Databases:

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Nursing & allied health collection of scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. Funded by Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
From the National Library of Medicine. Includes sources covering nursing, dentistry, medicine, veterinary medicine, and more, from academic medical journals and professional magazines. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Online Collections:

Data.gov
Home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, etc.
De Humani Corporis Fabrica in Color
The UNC Health Sciences Library’s first edition of De humani corporis fabrica libri septem contains numerous colored woodcuts, which are on display in this collection.
Lane Medical Library Bio-Image Search
A database of biomedical images with Public Domain and Creative Commons licenses from a variety of sources.
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
NIH collection of images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Public Liaison, National Cancer Institute.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital image collections from the NIH.
Open-i Biomedical Image Search Engine
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) — CDC
The CDC's official image library.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to biomedical literature citations.
Wellcome Images
Cover thousands of years of health and medicine across different cultures.

History

History Resources: Primary Sources

History & Primary Sources Subject Websites

"Getting Started with Primary Sources" — Library of Congress

Databases:

Defining Moments in U.S. History (Lincoln Library)
Historical context of 30 defining moments in United States history. Includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, reading lists, glossaries, and photographs. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Britannica Academic (Britannica)
Includes encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other resources and tools for your research. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Florida Open Academic Library
Searchable database of digital archives and collections held by public post-secondary education institutions in Florida. Funding Source: Statewide Allocation.
History (Salem Press)
The history subset of the Salem Online ebook platfor. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Magazine articles, e-books, primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps, historical film and video, and more, covering U.S. and World history. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. From 1851.
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War (Gale)
A collection of Civil War-era personal narratives, essays, sermons, political speeches, and other primary sources. Funding source: State Library of Florida.
Search tips
1. On the homepage are an overview and reference essays for different aspects of
  the Civil War.
2. Once you select a topic, you will find sections, each ending with a
  thorough bibliography of primary sources you can view and use as sources.
3. Or, use the Search bar to search within the collection.
4. Or, click View all documents in this collection.
5. You can narrow down results by person, author, publication date, and more
Try using the Topic Finder. You can search for one event, person, aspect of the war, and more, then narrow down your topic. Results will be shown on the right.
U.S. History (Gale)
Content from periodicals, reference works, and primary source documents relating to U.S. history, organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
World History (Gale)
Content from periodicals, reference works, and primary source documents relating to world history, organized into a portal for easy research. Funded by: FLVC Group License. Here is a tutorial.

Online Collections:

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
This site from Yale Law School collects historical documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from pre-18th century to the present.
British Library on Flickr
British Museum
David Rumsey Map Collection
Florida Memory: State Library and Archives of Florida
Getty Search Gateway
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Three main sections: ancient, medieval, and modern, as well as subsections. The sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. From Fordham University.
Letter from America, by Alistair Cooke in New York
features 900+ of Alistair Cooke's Letter from America BBC radio broadcasts sharing insights and observations to Britons on the social, political, and cultural aspects of American life, as a counterpoint to the Hollywood image of the US.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Primary Documents in American History
Digital images of historical documents in American history, from the Library of Congress' digital collections.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
National Museum of American History: Online Exhibitions
Primary Source Sets
"Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide." Browse by subject, time period and chronology.
Smithsonian Collections
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
U.S. National Archives
World Digital Library
Primary materials from around the world from ancient to modern times.
Yale University Art Gallery

Music

Databases:

Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)
Audio and video that spans all time periods, many musical genres, and hundreds of thousands of artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Online Collections:

Boosey & Hawkes Online Scores
View works from the B&H catalogue in digital format.
Corpus Christi Watershed
Provides liturgical music and rare Gregorian chant tomes online.
Duke Libraries Historic American Sheet Music
Provides access to digital images for over 3,000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Harvard Library Digital Scores and Libretti
Loeb Music Library's digital collection of scores and libretti, selected for their rare or unique natures and their popularity as objects of research and teaching.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Music scores available by composer (alpha or by period), or instrumentation.
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
Collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Music
Morgan Library & Museum Music Manuscripts Online
Works by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, and Schumann, among many others.
Musopen
Recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.
National Jukebox (Library of Congress)
Historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. (Requires use of Flash)
New York Philharmonic Digital Archives
Public Domain Music
A reference site devoted to helping identify public domain music that is no longer under copyright restrictions and can now be used "royalty free."
Sheet Music Consortium
Provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

Political Science

Government Web Directory

Laws, treaties, regulations, census data, etc. as primary sources should be acquired from the government department or a database, not from unofficial sites.

Databases:

Britannica Academic (Britannica)
Homeland Security Digital Library (CHDS)
From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Contains policy and strategy documents, presidential directives, theses, and more. Funding source: free resource. Here is a tutorial.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students, and researchers. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Online Collection:

Data.gov
Home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, etc.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Government, Law, & Politics
Library of Congress Primary Documents in American History
Digital images of historical documents in American history, from the Library of Congress' digital collections.
U.S. National Archives

Sciences

Databases:

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
Journal articles, many in full text, on research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO)
Full text articles covering biological and agricultural studies including the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and more." Funded by FLVC group license.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest)
Ihis database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses, including COVID-19, from the world’s leading publishers. Free resource.
JSTOR
Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Science (Gale)
Reference information, journal and magazine articles, and other media, covering all fields of science and organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

When searching for primary sources in these databases, only use original research, case studies, statistics, lab notes, patents, etc.

Online Collections:

American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections
Cell Image Library
A freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms.
Data.gov
Home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, etc.
National Geographic Photo Archive
National Science Foundation Document Library
NOAA Data Access
Primary data from the NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to biomedical literature citations.
Smithsonian Libraries Instruments for Science, 1800-1914
Search or browse by company name or instrument to find images of historical scientific instruments.
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Research & Collections
Springer Nature Scientific Data
USGS Science Data Catalog
From the U.S. Geological Survey, of the U.S. Department of the Interior.
Wellcome Images
Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History

Storage guide: Ready-To-Go Boxes for Primary Sources

Art & Art History

Databases:

Online Collections:

Literature

Databases:

Online Collections:

Film & Theater

Databases:

Search tips

More tips

Online Collections:

Health Sciences & Nursing

Databases:

Online Collections:

History

History Resources: Primary Sources

History & Primary Sources Subject Websites

Databases:

Search tips

Online Collections:

Music

Databases:

Online Collections:

Political Science

Government Web Directory

Databases:

Online Collection:

Sciences

Databases:

Online Collections: