Government Web Resources: Government Web Directory

Website for the U.S. government agency with information and services to aid small businesses.

Non-governmental organization focused on human rights.

Click on the physical world map to go to the physical map index or the political world map to go to the political map index.

Info on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Find your country in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to see all the links to sources about the Constitution, Legal system, etc. of your country. Many sources are primary, i.e. they are documents (in translation) produced by that country's government.

"The mission of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is to promote the "peaceful uses of nuclear sciences and technology." To accomplish this mission, IAEA staff inspect nuclear facilities, develop standards to ensure safe operation of nuclear facilities, and act as a hub for scientific and technical information on peaceful nuclear applications."

"Successful business transactions often depend on cross-cultural competence; through this website, visitors can research the cultures of 32 countries and six regions around the world. The home page serves as an introduction and a portal, with links to individual country pages, regions, and other resources. All country pages contain basic country information and fun facts...."

Provides open access publications in the fields of cartography, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Geospatial analysis and mapping.

US Census Bureau. Access demographic, economic and geographic data on countries.

ElectionGuide by International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) "is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online."

Find statistics and analysis about trade in various industries, including: Aerospace, Automotive, Financial and Health industries.

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to "check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents." Based at George Washington University.

Travel information for any country in the world compiled by the U.S. Dept. of State.

"Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."

Mandate: "...to support members in their efforts to ensure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food." Select Countries tab for country-specific reports.

The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Search across all data sets by keyword, topic or country.

Data on global health.

U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)

Law Library of Congress.

This is the main search portal for the federal government. If you are uncertain of which agency or department collects data related to your topic try searching here.

From Louisiana State University Libraries.

The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.

"The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government." Provides "comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. "

The consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Students can educate themselves about our state's Senatorial principles, processes, history and current events.

Find hundreds of e-Government federal, state, & county resources organized by category. The site is intended to be a statewide portal to valuable e-Government resources.

Of particular interest might be these links: Services...Departments...Residents.

Popular services that the County offers.

The Hillsborough Legislative Delegation consists of 13 members of the Florida Senate and Florida House of Representatives that represent all or parts of Hillsborough County.

The Florida Legislature.

One-stop social service and government information in Florida--by county, then by-topic.

Sponsored by the Council of State Governments, this website aims to provide users "access to interactive, customizable and up to date comparative performance measurements for the 50 states,"

End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations.

A comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency.

Includes official records including daily schedules, nomination papers, speeches, writings, e-mails, photos, videos, audios, transcripts of weekly radio addresses and more.

Recorded proceedings of the United States federal government, as well as other public affairs programming from all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource.

Eng/Spanish - gov. resource updated daily - provides info about a wide range of financial products & services.

US Government Printing Office (GPO) site.

Movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Fed. Res. Bank of St. Louis - 240,000 economic and financial time series data.

Wide range of transportation resources.

Provides updated, reliable, non-biased information about land use, climate change trends, ecosystem health, natural hazards, and other geological topics.