LibGuides: Storage guide: eBooks & Reference

eBook Databases

While eBooks (online books) may come up in a general search of the Library Catalog, you can also search individual eBook databases to find online books that precisely match your topical search terms. In addition, you can browse by subject, as well as search within a subject.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Platform of eBooks and audiobooks. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. Funded by HCC and statewide allocation.
ABC-CLIO eBooks
Searchable reference, academic and general interest e-books. Funded by HCC. Here is a tutorial.
eBooks (Gale)
Searchable database of more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. Funding source: HCC and Statewide. Here is a tutorial.
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing)
Reference and nonfiction eBooks that cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, careers and more. Funding source: HCC. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.

See our full listing of databases that contain eBooks.

Literature and its Times

Profiles of notable American and international literary works and the historical events that influenced them. These books are online only.

Literature and Its Times Ancient Times to American and French Revolutions (Prehistory-1790s)Civil Wars to Frontier Societies (1800-1880s)Growth of Empires to the Great Depression (1890s-1930s)World War II to the Affluent Fifities (1940s-1950s)Civl Rights Movements to Future Times (1960-2000)
Literature and Its Times Supplement I Ancient Times to Harlem Renaissance (Beginnings-1920s)Great Depression and New Deal to Future Times (1930s - )

World Literatures and their Times

Covers major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from countries and regions around the world. Literary works are discussed in the context of the social climate during which they were created. PRO TIP: For most efficient searching, use Search Within Publication.

Reference Shelf Databases

eBooks (Gale)
Searchable database of more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. Funding source: HCC and Statewide. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
More than 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference from Oxford University Press. Click Subject to access volumes under each category. Click Reference Type to select subject reference, dictionaries, timelines, and more. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.
Britannica Academic (Britannica)

See our full list of Reference databases.

Etymology Online

If you can't consult the dictionaries of etymology in the Library, here are three links that may be useful:

(The first two links are to the HCC Subscription databases, and require a log in. Borrower ID = student number; PIN = last four of that number.)

Oxford English Dictionary - this is a rather complicated source and gives you the history of the word usage in (usually) great detail.

Concise Oxford English Dictionary - The link connects you to Oxford Reference Online. Click on English Language Reference>Concise Oxford Dictionary of Etymology. (this source gives a very short sentence about your word.)

Etymology Dictionary Online - a source from the free web that is clear and easy to use.