Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Brandon): Online: Van Dyke - DOAS

Online Scholarly Resources for Death of a Salesman

The HCC Libraries have a variety of resources that are useful for researching Death of a Salesman. These resources include databases, books, eBooks, and eVideos. Below are some of the most useful tools with tips on their use. 

Scroll through this list to see the many different kinds of resources available to you. *If your prompted for your Borrower ID and Pin - enter your student number as the Borrower ID and the last four digits of your student number as the PIN.

Databases:

Bloom's Literature database has 89 criticism results about Death of a Salesman. It is most helpful to search by entering "death of a salesman" (with the quotes) in the search box. Check out the video for a sample search strategy.

Gale Literary Sources will allow you to find articles from journals as well as from books. Use this source to find most of the information (if not all) that is used for your research paper. It will be best if you search with the KEYWORD search "death of a salesman" (change the dropdown option to Keyword - and type in the title using the quotes). You can also use additional keywords, such as music, "set description", "tragic hero", etc. Check out the video for sample search strategies for this database.
Click on "Dictionary" at the very bottom of the screen.  Select the "Encyclopedia of Literature."  It has entries for the following:

  • Expressionism
  • Hero
  • Marxist Criticism
  • Social Realism
  • Symbol, Symbolist Movement

The Literary Reference Center Plus is a smaller database that includes literary criticism, summary articles, and biographical information that might be helpful for your research paper on Death of a Salesman. For this database, begin your search with "death of a salesman" (include the quotation marks) as a general search. You can add additional keywords to narrow your results. Check out the video for sample search strategies for this database.

*Note that MasterPlots will appear as results and are NOT considered scholarly research sources. They are helpful for summary information only. 

eBooks:  

The library has many books in print and as eBooks about Death of a Salesman. Take a look at some of the eBook titles below for information that can be used in your research paper. These eBooks are all available for you to read completely online. 

eVideo:  Film

The library has the streaming version of Death of a Salesman available for you to view. 

Overviews of Death of a Salesman:

Overview: Death of a Salesman from Literature and its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them. This article provides a great overview of the play and provides information about the time period during which is was written. 

Tragic Hero - Google Scholar Searches

Google Scholar Search