LibGuides: Criminal Justice (Ybor City): Articles in Databases

Library Databases: Criminal Justice

Using these databases, you can search for articles from criminal justice periodicals, and other materials. HCC Log In Required.

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
CJD supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ indexes open access scientific and scholarly journals.

Homeland Security Digital Library (CHDS)
The nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. supporting local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs. Includes important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, national strategy documents, theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. Requires HCC ID to log in.

National Institute of Corrections Digital Resources Library
OpenDOAR: The Directory of Open Access Repositories
Policing OnLine Information System (POLIS)
From the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe., this database consolidates aspects of policing activities with the 56 OSCE Participating States into a comprehensive, multilingual resource. Includes profiles of each participating country, information about international organized crime, etc.
The Sentencing Project: Racial Disparity
The Race and Justice Clearinghouse provides information, analysis, and commentary on race and ethnicity as they interact with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Contains information and tools to understand racial disparities. Courtesy of the Sentencing Project.

"Periodicals" are:

Newspapers ... magazines ... trade publications ... scholarly journals

Content from these publications are collected in online article databases.

HCC Libraries subscribes to more than 100 databases.

Some of the most helpful ones for your assignment are linked on this page.

Articles tend to:

...report on specific issues...they may be more current than books...and are good sources for materials about current issues and concerns

Work from the general to the specific.
Stay organized to save time and frustration.
Keep track of what you find and where you found it.
Better to gather more sources than you'll actually end up citing.
Notice what's on the screen! Read it!
- Library search engines and databases include useful tools, such as:
  - Citation, email, saving, printing, translation, and more..
- Library search engines and databases provide multiple ways to filter your results, such as:
  - By format, subject, date range of publication, peer-reviewed articles, and more.
Need help? Ask a librarian.