Skip to main content

LIT 2000 - Freeman - Plant City: Susan Glaspell

Search HCC Libraries

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Books about Glaspell

Books and eBooks

Selected books and eBooks about Susan Glaspell.  To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.   

Literature Databases

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about "Trifles" or "A Jury of Her Peers", search in the databases found on the header tabs in this box.

Databases are used to search for and locate articles needed for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas.  If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries.

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically, you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about a particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography (Gale) database.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature is a database that provides access to several different types of resources on several authors, stories, and characters. 

  • Browse Most Studied Authors 
  • Browse Most Studied Works 
  • Browse Most Studied Characters 
To search for a specific author, story title or character, you can also use Search Options > Advanced Search tool.  
Bloom's Literature search term box with Glaspell, Susan as the search term

Gale Literature

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Susan Glaspell and "Trifles" or "A Jury of Her Peers".

At the Advanced Search screen enter "jury of her peers" in the "Name of Work" box and "glaspell" in the "person-by or about" box.

Click on the check box that will limit to "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally click on "Search" and a list of articles will appear.

Advanced Search screen with "A jury of her peers" as name of work and Glaspell, Susan as person by or about

Choose Literature Criticism to see Showing results for Literature Criticism (87)the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, choose the title. 

Literary Reference Center 

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Susan Glaspell and her writings.  Some information will overlap with that in the Gale Literature database.

Enter the title "trifles" or "jury of her peers" and the author "glaspell" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.

Literature Criticism Online

Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Susan Glaspell and her writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, type Jury of Her Peers in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.

Advanced Search page with "a jury of her peers" as the search term

Choose Literature Criticism to seethe articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title.Showing results of Literature Criticism