Skip to main content

LIT 2000 - Freeman - Plant City: Virginia Woolf

Search HCC Libraries

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Books about Woolf

Many More...

There are many more books available through the HCC Libraries on the writings of Virginia Woolf.  

Literature Databases

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about "A Room of One's Own", search in the databases below.

Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas.  If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries. 

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography (Gale) database.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature is a database that provides access to several different types of resources on several authors, stories, and characters. 

  • Browse Most Studied Authors 
  • Browse Most Studied Works 
  • Browse Most Studied Characters 

To search for a specific author, story title or character, you can also use Search Options > Advanced Search tool.  

Bloom's Literature search box with Woolf, Virginia as the search term.

Gale Literature

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Virginia Woolf and "A Room of One's Own".

At the Advanced Search screen type "a room of one's own" in the Name of Work box and "Woolf" in the person-by or about box.

Make sure there is a check mark next to the More Options > "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally choose "Search" and a list of articles will appear.

Gale Literature Advanced Search page with "A room of one's own" in the Name of Work search box line and Woolf, Virginia in the Person by or About search box line

Literary Reference Center Plus

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Viginia Woolf and her writings.  Some information will overlap with the Gale Literature database.

Enter the title "A Room of One's Own and the author "Woolf" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.

Literary Reference Center Plus search boxes with a room of one's own and Woolf, Virginia as the search terms.

Gale Literature Criticism 

Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Virginia Woolf and her writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, type "A Room of One's Own" in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.

Gale Literature Criticism search box with "A Room of One's Own" with a note stating to type the title only and not use the suggestion from the database to "collection" to the search term.