Skip to main content

LIT 2000 - Freeman - Plant City: Zora Neale Hurston

Search HCC Libraries

Find Books, Articles, Media, & more:

Books about Hurston

Books and eBooks

Selected books and eBooks about Zora Neale Hurston.  To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.   

Literature Databases

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about Their Eyes Were Watching God, search in the databases below.

Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas.  If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries. 

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography (Gale) database.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature is a database that provides access to several different types of resources on several authors, stories, and characters. 

  • Browse Most Studied Authors 
  • Browse Most Studied Works 
  • Browse Most Studied Characters 
To search for a specific author, story title or character, you can also use Search Options > Advanced Search tool.  
Hurston, Zora as the keyword search term

Gale Literature

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Zora Neale Hurston and the novel Their Eyes Were Watching God.

At the Advanced Search screen type "their eyes were watching God" in the Name of Work box and "Hurston" in the person-by or about box.

Make sure there is a check mark next to the More Options > "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally choose "Search" and a list of articles will appear.
Advanced Search screen with "Their Eyes Were Watching God" AND Hurston, Zora Neale as the search terms.
Choose Literature Criticism to seethe articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title.Showing results for Literature Criticism

Literary Reference Center Plus

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Zora Neale Hurston and her writings.  Some information will overlap with that in the Artemis Literary Sources (Gale).

Enter the title Their Eyes Were Watching God and the author "Hurston" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.

Advanced search screen with Their Eyes Were Watching God AND Hurston, Zore Neale as the keyword search terms

Gale Literature Criticism 

Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Zora Neale Hurston and her writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, type Their Eyes Were Watching God in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.

Advanced Search screen with Their Eyes Were Watching God as the search term

Choose Literature Criticism to seethe articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title.Showing results for Literature Criticism