It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Humanities - Shuler (Dale Mabry): Databases
Use this guide to help you find sources for your research paper!
These databases are good for searching just about any topic or subject.
They contain mostly articles from periodicals - many are scholarly or peer-reviewed.
Academic OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading scholarly journals and reference sources across the gamut of subjects taught in higher education institutions. PRO TIP: On the results screen, Filter Your Results to narrow to Document Type, or to Search Within the results to narrow them further.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for higher education. PRO TIP: After entering search terms, Limit to Full Text. After results appear, Refine by Source Types.
Google Scholar (Google)This link opens in a new windowThis special part of Google provides an alternative way to search for scholarly articles that may be online. Accessing Google Scholar here will cause any search results located in HCC Libraries databases to be labeled Full Text @ HCC.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowContent from back issues of core journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PRO TIP: Use the search bar on the homepage OR the Search dropdown menu OR the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to find sources. With Advanced Search you can narrow down the kind of results you want by date, discipline, and item type.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from history reference books and encyclopedias, and nearly 60 history magazines. Historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video. PRO TIP: You can limit your search by "Timeline" to specify a particular period in history.
World History (Gale)This link opens in a new windowContextual information on significant people, events and topics in World History. Blends reference content (encyclopedias, dictionaries) with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowDesigned to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Funding source: Statewide allocation
Many materials you find in college-level research are articles from scholarly journals, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic." In some instances, your professor will require you to use these types of articles—at least as some of the sources that you cite in your work. The resources below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)Select the highlighted areas to learn about the different parts of a scholarly article, such as: title, abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion and conclusion, works cited (references or bibliography). Sometimes it helps to read the discussion and conclusion first. Source: NCSU Libraries.