Find Articles Through Our Databases
Use one of our 100+ article databases to find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals...as well as reference material...and multi-media content.
You can access these article databases with your HCC Borrower ID & PIN.
Need help? Ask a Librarian!
Brief, Helpful and Fun Videos
Google Scholar: A Specialized Part of Google
...locates scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions - from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. More about Google Scholar.
- Not every result in Google Scholar links to a full-text article...HOWEVER...
- You can set your computer's "preferences" to indicate any full-text articles available through HCC library databases. Tthese articles will be marked as Find Text via LINCCWeb. Example of Google Scholar Search Results.
I Can't Find Anything!
Setting Up Google Scholar
- Create a Google Account
- Log-in & access Google Scholar
- Click on Settings (the "gear" icon)
- Search for "HCC" under "Library Links"
- Select Hillsborough Community College & Open WorldCat
- Now your results will indicate resources available to you FullText via LINCCWeb
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be very useful and is appealing because of the familiar single search box. There are limitations to Google Scholar, however:
- Google Scholar is not comprehensive and does not provide indexing to many of the scholarly journals available through the library databases which can bias your research and limit your exposure to the body of research available.
- Not all results are from peer-reviewed sources. You will need to critically evaluate materials found through Google Scholar.
- Many results are not available in full text through Google Scholar.
- Stronger in science and technology than humanities.
- Tends to lack currency.
Google Scholar features:
- Connects to HCC Library: Under Settings you can add libraries that you have access to for links to full text.
- Cited by: This link will give you a list of works which cited that article. This can help lead you to more sources.
- Related Articles: This link will bring up results on or related to that subject.
- Google Books: Search results include books available as previews or for free through Google Books.