Databases - Humanities - Shuler (Dale Mabry) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Selected databases for researching your topics

These databases are good for searching just about any topic or subject.

They contain mostly articles from periodicals - many are scholarly or peer-reviewed.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles from leading scholarly journals and reference sources across the gamut of subjects taught in higher education institutions. PRO TIP: On the results screen, Filter Your Results to narrow to Document Type, or to Search Within the results to narrow them further.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for higher education. PRO TIP: After entering search terms, Limit to Full Text. After results appear, Refine by Source Types.
Google Scholar (Google)
This special part of Google provides an alternative way to search for scholarly articles that may be online. Accessing Google Scholar here will cause any search results located in HCC Libraries databases to be labeled Full Text @ HCC.
JSTOR
Content from back issues of core journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PRO TIP: Use the search bar on the homepage OR the Search dropdown menu OR the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to find sources. With Advanced Search you can narrow down the kind of results you want by date, discipline, and item type.

Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly articles from international peer-reviewed journals, discussing art and architecture across eras, regions, and artists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a Here is a tutorial.
Artstor
Images in a wide array of subjects from museums, archives, scholars, and artists around the world, rights-cleared education and research. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)
The entire text online of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes on all aspects of the visual arts, in every civilization, from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)
Audio and video that spans all time periods, many musical genres, and hundreds of thousands of artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Music Online: Reference (Alexander Street Press)
A database of music-related reference content, including musician and composer biographies, dictionaries of music and musicians, and chronologies. Funding source: FLVC group license.
Search tips
1. Search for a keyword, composer, performer, etc. in the search box on the
  homepage. Or use the menus below the search bar to browse collections, genres, and
  content types.
2. Within each tab is a link to browse the full category list.
3. Once you’ve narrowed down your search, click on the item to open it.
A video detailing how to search the database is available at the bottom of the homepage.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Full text articles from history reference books and encyclopedias, and nearly 60 history magazines. Historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video. PRO TIP: You can limit your search by "Timeline" to specify a particular period in history.
World History (Gale in Context)
Contextual information on significant people, events and topics in World History. Blends reference content (encyclopedias, dictionaries) with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing)
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO)
A database of reference entries, journal articles, and other information on literary works and authors. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press)
Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Biography (Gale in Context)

What are scholarly, or peer-reviewed, articles?

Many materials you find in college-level research are articles from scholarly journals, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic." In some instances, your professor will require you to use these types of articles, at least as some of the sources that you cite in your work. The resources below demonstrate the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive diagram)
Select the highlighted areas to learn about the different parts of a scholarly article, such as: title, abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion and conclusion, works cited (references or bibliography). Sometimes it helps to read the discussion and conclusion first. Source: NCSU Libraries.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (video 04:47)
Narrated version of the interactive diagram, from NCSU Libraries.

Why use library databases?

A Yavapai College student explains the benefits of using library databases for research.

Humanities - Shuler (Dale Mabry): Databases

Search specific databases

Selected databases for researching your topics

Search tips

What are scholarly, or peer-reviewed, articles?

Why use library databases?