Fine Arts, Performing Arts - Humanities - Shuler (Dale Mabry) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Look up your art, music, dance or theatre topics in these online reference resources

Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)
The entire text online of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes on all aspects of the visual arts, in every civilization, from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection."

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Call Number: REF GV1585 .I586 2004
Covers all types of dance around the world and throughout history. PRO Tip: This reference source is part of a database. To search just within this encyclopedia, use the search box at the bottom ("search within work"), or browse topics alphabetically.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Covers theatre and performance from ancient Greece to the modern world. In addition to performances in playhouses - covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. PRO Tip: This reference source is part of a database. To search just within this encyclopedia, use the search box at the bottom ("search within work"), or browse topics alphabetically.

To round out your research, also refer to these pages:

Need help?