Health - SLS 1106 - Dale Mabry Campus - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Search student health topics in HCC Libraries catalog

Some search tips to start

1. Type 1-2 keywords that describe your topic
2. Put quotation marks around multiple word search terms
3. Click "Search"
4. Search results may include books as well as eBooks, articles, videos, etc.
Examples:
- "college students" AND "drug abuse"
- "college students" AND smoking
- "college students" AND sleep
- "college students" AND "alcohol use"
- "college students" AND "alcohol abuse"
- "eating disorders" AND "college students"
- suicide AND "college students"
- stress AND "college students"
Tips and examples work for both the Search box and the databases on this page.

Library databases for health research

The databases linked below provide access to professional journal articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles. To access these resources, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.

To get started, try the keywords suggested in the Search Tips box on this page.

Health and Wellness (Gale) Information on a wide range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Sources on many health topics, including medical sciences, food and nutrition, sports medicine, childcare, etc. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Health research websites

These are quality websites for Community and Health project. No log in required.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including: smoking, unplanned pregnancy, alcohol use, drug use, unhealthy dietary habits.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics - Fast Stats
"The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance."
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Great resource on alcohol, drug and nicotine stats for college student age range.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health
Provides national and state-level data on the use of tobacco, alcohol, illicit drugs (including non-medical use of prescription drugs) and mental health in the United States. To view the latest survey report, click on Survey Results, Latest Survey Results.
Medline Plus: Mental Health & Behavior
Mental Health links, reference, research, multimedia and more from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institites of Health.

SLS 1106 - Dale Mabry Campus: Health

Search student health topics in HCC Libraries catalog

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Some search tips to start

Examples:

Library databases for health research

Health research websites