LibGuides: Careers and Professional Skills (Dale Mabry): Library databases

Library databases for career research

The databases linked below are specific to career research and provide great information on many career fields - such as salary, education requirements, career field growth potential, and job listings. You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access these databases.

Fergusons Career Guidance Center (Infobase Publishing)
Besides using the Search box to search your career....Try these sections: Explore Careers; Plan Your Education; Prepare For Your Career; Find a Career
Salem Online (Salem Press)
Online reference materials across a wide variety of subject. PRO Tip: Filter by "Careers & Business"
Peterson's Test Prep (Gale)
A tool for standardized test prep. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
College Source Online (Career Guidance Foundation)
Search more than 19,000 college catalogs - in complete cover-to-cover, original page format - for 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools.

Periodical article databases

Many articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines - periodicals - cover careers, job-hunting, etc.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Video databases

Videos can be great sources of information and enhance your presentations. Using the databases linked below, you can watch and use videos by-segment, obtain transcripts, and get citation help.

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Videos for academic use. Enter the name of your field and the word, career. If needed, you can change the "Relevance" order of results, filter by format, year, etc.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Videos for academic use. Enter your field and the word careers. If needed, use the left menu to refine your search by filters, such as Topic/Theme.

Want to own your own business or work for yourself?

Visit the entrepreneurship page.

Need some keyword suggestions?

Visit the search terms page.