Library Databases for Community Health Posters - Bell - SLS 1106 First Year Experience Orientation - - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Library Databases

Health and Student Oriented Databases

The databases below are good, general databases to start. Type in your search term similar to what you used searching the library online catalog for books, and click search. These databases provides access to professional journal articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles. You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access.

Trouble Logging In?
Use this page on the research guide if you are having difficulties accessing the online library resources found here.

Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
General OneFile (Gale) A broad, general-interest database of articles from more than 8,000 periodicals, most in full text. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
PsycArticles (EBSCO)
Sage Skills - Student Success
Learning resource focused on academic and personal skills related to student success and lifelong learning (Student Success). Funding source: Statewide allocation.

Hints for Locating Statistical Information

Hints on how to find statistical information

The article databases provide an easy way to locate authoritative information not just in article format, but also as statistical data. When searching for statistics on your topic, look for reports as the format.

For Example:

Search in Health and Wellness (Gale) for "college students" AND "mental health". Make sure Full Text is checked under More Options.

After the results populate:

Choose Academic Journals as the Content Type
Open the Document Format section in the Filter Your Results section
Choose Reports or Survey or Clinical Report

Reports are based on research conducted by the authors and will most likely present some statistics. If not, also look for the Document Format of Statistical Data or Statistical Table or Survey or Case Study or Clinical Report.

Health and Wellness (Gale)
Information on a wide range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Bell - SLS 1106 First Year Experience Orientation - : Library Databases for Community Health Posters

What is a Library Database