Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1106 First Year Experience Orientation - Mullen: Library Databases for Community Health Posters

For SLS 1106 First Year Experience Orientation - Mullen

About Library Databases

Library Databases

Health and Student Oriented Databases

The databases below are good, general databases to start.  Type in your search term similar to what you used searching the library online catalog for books, and click search.  These databases provides access to professional journal articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles.  You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access.  

Hints for Database Article Searches

Hints on how to find statistical information

The article databases provide an easy way to locate authoritative information not just in article format, but also as statistical data.  When searching for statistics on your topic, look for reports as the format. 

For Example:

Search in Academic OneFile for "binge drinking" AND "college students".  Check Full Text under More Options.

After the results populate, choose Academic Journals from the Content Type box to the right and under the Document Format section in the right column, choose Reports or Survey. 

Reports are based on research conducted by the authors and will most likely present some statistics.  If not, also look for the Document Format of Statistical Data or Statistical Table or Survey.