Articles from leading scholarly journals and reference sources across the gamut of subjects taught in higher education institutions. PRO TIP: On the results screen, Filter Your Results to narrow to Document Type, or to Search Within the results to narrow them further.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for higher education. PRO TIP: After entering search terms, Limit to Full Text. After results appear, Refine by Source Types.
This special part of Google provides an alternative way to search for scholarly articles that may be online. Accessing Google Scholar here will cause any search results located in HCC Libraries databases to be labeled Full Text @ HCC.
Content from back issues of core journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PRO TIP: Use the search bar on the homepage OR the Search dropdown menu OR the Browse dropdown menu at the top of the page to find sources. With Advanced Search you can narrow down the kind of results you want by date, discipline, and item type.
Online access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes, covering all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license.
Audio and video that spans all time periods, many musical genres, and hundreds of thousands of artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Full text articles from history reference books and encyclopedias, and nearly 60 history magazines. Historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video. PRO TIP: You can limit your search by "Timeline" to specify a particular period in history.
Contextual information on significant people, events and topics in World History. Blends reference content (encyclopedias, dictionaries) with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.