It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Countries & Cultures (Dale Mabry): Online Databases
Besides the library catalog, search your topic in smaller, more specific library databases (filter by subject). On this page are links to some recommended databases, tutorials, and an explanation of scholarly articles.
Google Scholar (Google)This link opens in a new windowThis special part of Google provides an alternative way to search for scholarly articles that may be online. Using this link to Google Scholar will cause any results that are in HCC databases to be identified as "Full Text @ HCC."
History Reference Center (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from history reference books and encyclopedias, and nearly 60 history magazines. Historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video. PRO TIP: You can limit your search by "Timeline" to specify a particular period in history.
World History (Gale)This link opens in a new windowContextual information on significant people, events and topics in World History. Blends reference content (encyclopedias, dictionaries) with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from history reference books and magazines. Historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video. PRO TIP: You can limit your search by "Timeline" to specify a particular period in US or World History.
A Yavapai College student explains the benefits of using library databases for research.
What are scholarly or peer-reviewed articles?
Many materials you find in college-level research are articles from scholarly journals, often called "peer-reviewed," or "academic." In some instances, your professor will require that you use these types of articles as sources that you cite in your work. The resources below explain the typical appearance, structure, and function of scholarly articles.