It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Raiders of the Lost Databases: Home
Companion guide to the eponymous session at Faculty Professional Development Day (FPD), 10/20/20.
Thanks for joining us at Raiders of the Lost Databases!
"With more than 120 online research databases in HCC Libraries' repository, who can keep up? Join us for a refresher on - or first-time discovery of - some lesser-known gems, and their features and tools."
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects across the spectrum of college and university curricula. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Fergusons Career Guidance Center (Infobase Publishing)Comprehensive career research database. Includes profiles of more than 2,900 popular jobs in 93 industries. Also articles from current and past issues of Career Opportunities News, a newsletter about colleges and the job market.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest)Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
This new resource was added after the Spring 2020 shutdown. A student researching "environmental impacts of the coronavirus" this semester found what he could use in this database!
Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press)The most comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference available in the world. The Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries in three volumes of 3,840 full-sized pages.
Funding source: FLVC group license
Here is Global Road Warrior's product brochure. It describes, with screenshots, the many topics included in each country profile.
If you're seeking current content in the New York Times:
New York Times - Current (Gale)Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current
Peterson's Test Prep Education & Career Center (Gale)Helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. Includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Also assists in writing admissions application essays or resumes.