Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1101/ENC1102 Plant City and MacDill: ENC1102 Literary Criticism Resources

This Library Guide (Research Guide) is to be utilized as a general resource for the English Composition (ENC) classes offered at HCC Plant City Campus.

Literary Criticism and Analysis

Clipart of investigator similar to Sherlock Holmes with pipe and magnifying glass.The resources found on this  page will assist ENC1102 students when your assignment asks for you to provide documentation from literary criticisms or literary analysis.  Some of these resources are found in printed books located at the HCC libraries and others are electronic books accessed through the HCC library databases.  If you need assistance with accessing any of these materials, please contact your librarian.

"pengintip" is licensed under CC0 1.0

Books and eBooks

Sample

The books listed above are just a sample of the type of literature criticism sources available in the HCC Plant City library.  To search the library for more literary criticisms, please see the next box labeled "Suggested Search Terms to Use".

Helpful Hints

Helpful Hints

The PDF files below provide helpful search strategies when using the literature databases.  If you have any questions or need further assistance, do not hesitate to contact your librarian.

Video Instruction

Video Instruction

The following video introduces you to how to use library online systems to find and access literature resources for your literary assignments.

NOTE: If you see the stoplight in the box below, choose the Play button and enter:

  • HCC NET ID
  • HCC NET ID Password

Suggested Search Terms to Use

Search Term Suggestions

The following search terms will assist you in locating literary criticisms located at the HCC libraries using the HCC Library Online Catalog.  

Examples:

"literary criticism"

If you need to find general literary criticism, start with a basic search term.  Use quotation marks around a multiple word term for the results to include that exact term.

"Harold Bloom"

Harold Bloom can be used as an Author keyword search term.

"Ernest Hemingway" AND criticism

Type in an author or story title name, use the next search term box in the Advanced Search screen and type criticism to find literary criticism on a specific author or story title.

The following example is for a specific story title or character name.  This is effective search term usage that will bring up solid results quickly.

"Flannery O'Connor" 

AND "Short Story Criticism" 

AND "Hulga" 

 

Literary Database Tips

Bloom's Literature

This is a great database to browse.  At the Home Page, under Most Studied Authors, choose the View All option. The authors covered in this database will be shown and listed here in alphabetical order.  Look for your author, such as O'Connor, and choose the author's name.  Open the result Header called Literary Works and look for your story title.

screenshot of the search terms and results for Bloom's Literature database.  Searched for O'Connor, Flannery and chose the criticism section in the results

 

Flannery O'Connor can be found through keyword search term entry.  Type "O'Connor, Flannery" in the search bar near the top header of the web page.

Gale Literature

Ways to use Gale Literature

  1. Use the Works Search option.Screenshot of Gale Literature Database Works Search page
  2. Type the name of your short story, novel or poem.
    1. Results page will show you how many records are available.
      1. Records include:
        1. Biographies
        2. Work Summaries and Overviews
        3. Literary Criticisms
        4. Primary Sources of Works

Gale eBooks

This database is a collection of eBooks on a variety of topics.  The best way to use this database is to type in your keyword search term(s) and under More Options > to Collection > Literature.  See picture below for a sample:

Screenshot of Advanced Search page with "Hawthorne, Nathaniel" typed in the first search box

JSTOR

JSTOR is an article database that is also very good to use for literature research.  Here are two simple tips when JSTOR.

1.  Use the Advanced Search option

Screenshot of JSTOR Advanced Search page

2.  After the results populate, narrow results by using the  Subject filter.  Choose Language and Literature.

Screenshot of Subject filter heading

Screenshot of Language and Literature filter option box checked

Literary Reference Center Plus

When using this database, sometimes searching for the story title as the keyword search term develops the best results.  Remember, DO NOT use reviews as a source for literary criticisms. Use Plot Summaries, Overviews, Literary Criticisms types of sources.  

Screenshot of Source Types option box

 

Literature Criticism Online

This databases hosts the eBooks listed in the Literary Books in Databases box on this page.  You can search a specific book by choosing it from the Product/Series Pull Down Menu.

Screenshot of Product/Series options on the Advanced Search page

Short Story Criticism Online and 20th Century Literary Criticism are a good options.

Salem Online

If using the Salem Online database, to use the Literature section, on the Salem Press home page, open the Literature Section by choosing the word Literature in the Header row.  

Screenshot of Literature Table of Contents in Salem Online database

Look under Critical Insights for O'Connor, Flannery.  Search by short story title or character name in the Enter Keyword Search box.

Very Short Introductions

Published by Oxford University Press, Very Short Introductions introduce students to a topic, concept or in literature, authors and literary themes, genres and styles.  The text is written in short, clear and concise terminology for easy understanding. The online database version also provides greater access.  Titles are available in Print as well.