LibGuides: Finding Literary Criticism (Ybor City): Poems

Poetry Criticism - Reference Books

These books are for use in the library only.

Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
Call Number: REF PN1022.H39

What's in this print book.
Subject organization of the poems is especially useful. Poems are indexed by relevant topics, e.g. "racism."
Critical Survey of Poetry
Call Number: REF PN1021 .C7 2011

What's in this print book.
Covers poets and their works.Topical Essays (2 vols.) includes themes.
Cumulative Indexes (1 vol.) are by country, name, category, and subject – and a chronological list of poets, major awards and recipients, a time line, list of online resources, and a bibliography.
Masterplots II. Poetry series
Call Number: REF PN 1110.5 .M37 2002

What's in this print book.

Covers classic to contemporary poets. Articles are in alphabetical order by poem title. Volume 8 includes a Glossary of poetic terms -- and Indexes: Geographical and Ethnic, Type of Poem, Author, and Title.
World Poets
Call Number: REF PN1021 .W67 2000

What's in this print book.

Essays on the most studied poets and genres. For example: - Indigenous and Tribal Poetry- Harlem Renaissance Poetry- Asian American Poetry.

Poems - Reference eBooks

Use these online literature reference books to find historical background, author information, critical analyses, and much more about many poems. Log-in instructions are on the Home page.

After you log in, type the title of your work in the search box on the left, directly below the picture of the book cover.

Poetry for Students (eBook)

How to use this eBook.
After you log in, type the title of your work in the search box on the right, directly below the word, Tools. Looks like this. Be sure to type the title correctly. If the title is one word, add the author's last name. If your poem is covered in this reference, an article about it will likely appear in the very first results.

Online Article Databases

These library databases will lead you to critical and overview articles about works of literature; literary topics; author information; full text of many works; and more. Click a link below and log in. Click the buttons for information and tips about each database.

Literature (Gale)
Literary criticism, reviews, primary sources and literary works, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO)

A database of reference entries, journal articles, and other information on literary works and authors. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Literature Criticism (Gale)
Provides full-text literature criticism from Drama, Short Story, Poetry, Nineteenth Century, Twentieth Century, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Funding source: HCC perpetual license. Find a tutorial.