Thompson HUM 2110/30 - Arts & Humanities Resources - (Brandon) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Assignment - Prof. Thompson

Cultural Encounter Assignment - SP14

Selecting your Project - Useful Links

Links to General Sources, Museums and Theatres:

Dali Museum
St. Petersburg
Florida Museum of Photographic Arts
at USF - Tampa
HCC Ybor Art Gallery Schedule
HCC Dale Mabry Art Gallery Schedule
Located next to the library on the second floor of DLRC, the Learning Resources building, the Dale Mabry Campus art gallery exhibits regional, national and international artists in all media. An auxiliary space, Gallery3, expands the display area to the third floor.
Tempus Projects
Local Gallery with HCC Faculty connection
Morean Arts Center
Dale Chihuly's fantastic art glass is displayed in this small museum in downtown St. Petersburg.
Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg
downtown St. Petersburg
Ringling Museum
Sarasota - paintings, historic estate, circus museum, beautiful grounds
Tampa Museum of Art
downtown Tampa
USF - Art Museums, Galleries
American Stage Theatre Company
downtown St. Petersburg theatre
Freefall Theatre
Central Ave., St. Petersburg
HCC Brandon Theatre
Fall 2013 production info available.
HCC – Ybor Theater
Jobsite Theatre
(smaller theatre at the Straz, downtown Tampa)
Orlando Shakespeare Theatre
Tampa Repertory Theatre
(Theatre)
USF Theatre
(theatre and dance)
Stageworks Theatre
Local theatre in the Channelside District.

Finding Reviews of Local Productions

Florida Newspapers (also includes text from TV stations) in our HCC Library databases. This is searchable.

The borrower ID is your student number; the PIN is the last four of that number.

Select our local papers (Tampa Bay Times and Tampa Tribune) to search. We've had good luck changing full text to Section, then opposite Section typing in Arts. Put in the name of your event opposite a fulltext box.

Links to local newspaper art sections:

Tampa Bay Times:

Helpful databases

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information. For a full list of art related databases consult the Databases by Subject List.

Florida News Sources (NewsBank)
Use to find info on local theatres, productions, museums, etc.
Literature (Gale)
For information on a play or playwright.
Literature Criticism (Gale)
For information on a play or playwright.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Try for information on production companies, reviews of plays and information on playwrights.
America's News (Newsbank)
Current and archived newspaper articles from around the United States, Funded by statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Biography (Gale in Context)
For biographical information on playwrights and artists.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly sources relating to the humanities, such as culture, language, art, music, theatre, literature, philosophy, and more. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)
The entire text online of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes on all aspects of the visual arts, in every civilization, from prehistory to the 1990s), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Funding source: FLVC group license. Find a tutorial.

Arts & Humanities Image, Video, & Media Databases

Please consult the "Home" Tab for log-in information.

This is a list of databases for researching images of art and art collections. For a full list of art related databases consult the Database Finder.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Find a tutorial.
Dance Online: Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming videos of dance productions and documentaries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance. Funded by HCC. Find a tutorial.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Videos covering a wide range of subjects across the spectrum of college and university curricula. Include public performance rights for use in educational settings. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Find a tutorial.
Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)
Audio and video that spans all time periods, many musical genres, and hundreds of thousands of artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Funding source: FLVC group license. Find a tutorial.
Music Online: Reference (Alexander Street Press)
Search tips
1. Search for a keyword, composer, performer, etc. in the search box on the
  homepage. Or use the menus below the search bar to browse collections, genres, and
  content types.
2. Within each tab is a link to browse the full category list.
3. Once you’ve narrowed down your search, click on the item to open it.
A video detailing how to search the database is available at the bottom of the homepage.
Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Near DVD quality online access to theatrical productions. Can be useful for both theatre and drama, and English literature study. Funding source: HCC. Find a tutorial.

Reference Books for Theatre

Drama for Students by David Galens
Call Number: REF PN1601.D595
Publication Date: 1999-05-14
five vol. set discusses major plays. eBook versioncontains many more volumes

Use these sources criticism on national productions and plays (not local). Available in print & ebook.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama by McGraw-Hill Staff; Daniel Gerould (Preface by)
Call Number: REF PN1625.M3
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Discussion of plays, playwrights, and much more.

Arts & Humanities Resources - (Brandon): Thompson HUM 2110/30