Argumentative Essay - Dr. Reid - ENC 1101 - Plant City Campus - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Search Terms!

Search Terms

Build search terms from the keywords. Develop more search terms through brainstorming for related words and synonyms. For example, United States is a related search term to America.

Below are some sample search terms and search results.

The quotation marks around 'gene editing' is a search tool that creates an exact search. The most prominent/relevant resources in the results will have 'gene editing' together.

"artificial Intelligence" AND human*
The asterisk * symbol at the end of 'human' is a searching tool that results in any variation of a word. For this example, the library catalog resource results will have any variation of the word 'human' such as 'humans'.
"dating apps"
Simple search that can lead to relevant results. Use filters and/or additional search terms to narrow results.
"social media" AND privacy

More Search Tips

See the Boolean Operator Search Tip page for more research strategies.

Boolean Operators

Library Databases

Britannica Academic (Britannica) Includes encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other resources and tools for your research. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Salem Online (Salem Press) Online reference materials across a wide spectrum of subjects. Funding source: HCC Here is a tutorial.

Wall Street Journal
HCC students, faculty, & staff must set create a free personal account for online access to WSJ.com and the WSJ app. Funding source: HCC site license
America's News (Newsbank)
Current and archived newspaper articles from around the United States, Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial and a user guide.

Database Options

The library databases listed below provide access to resources, such as newspaper articles, magazine articles, professional and academic journal articles, that are appropriate for your Argumentative Essay.

General

The general databases are great places to start your research on any given topic.

Academic OneFile (Gale) Good database for the "narrative evaluation" topic.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
General OneFile (Gale) A broad, general-interest database of articles from more than 8,000 periodicals, most in full text. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Science and Technology

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) Journal articles, many in full text, on research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Computer Science (Gale) Computer Science (Gale OneFile) - Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries. Funded bt State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Science (Gale) Reference information, journal and magazine articles, and other media, covering all fields of science and organized into a portal for easy research. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Springer EJournal Collection Journals and documents in various discipline, including many science fields. Funding source: Statewide allocation.
Search tips
1. On the homepage, under Browse by Discipline, click a subject to browse articles, books, reference works, and more, in that subject.
2. Or, use the search bar at the top of the page to search for a title, keyword, subject, or author.
3. On the left side of the screen, you can narrow down your search by the content type or sub-discipline.
4. Above those search filters is a box you can un-check to exclude materials not available to HCC.
5. To view the item, click on the title; you can also download PDFs to view offline.
More tips
On the results page, each title has its content type identified (book, article, etc.)above the title. Sometimes articles are parts of collections, and you can find related materials in the collection on the right side of the page after opening the title. When you open a book, you can navigate the chapters menu to read them online or download individually, or download the entire book.

Legal Databases

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) Use the Criminal Justice Section to search for "assault weapons ban".
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) A premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.

Medical Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) From the National Library of Medicine. Includes sources covering nursing, dentistry, medicine, veterinary medicine, and more, from academic medical journals and professional magazines. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Health and Medicine (Gale ) Periodicals and reference book content for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. Funding source: State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.

Psychology Databases

PsycArticles (EBSCO) Articles from journals, many peer-reviewed, relating to psychology, including publications of the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.Coverage spans from 1894 to the present. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (Sage) Reports on timely issues, from social to environment, health, education, and science. Produced by experienced journalists. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. Funding source: FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Docuseek
Docuseek streams independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities. Fundied by HCC. Here is a tutorial.