MLA Research Paper - Dr. Reid - ENC 1101 - Plant City Campus - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Topic Keywords and Search Terms

Keywords

Figure out the keywords from your assignment topic. The keywords are the main topics and the subtopics of your assignment. For example, I have typed in Italics the words in the assignment topic about human trafficking incidents in Florida that I would consider keywords. I also typed what I would consider the main topic in bold as well as Italics. See below for the example.

Write a MLA Research Paper that focuses on conducting research to learn more about the factors contributing to the rapidly growing number of reported human trafficking incidents in Florida, the risk factors and social implications for children and young adults, and the support services and resources urgently needed to address this epidemic.

Resources

Use the HCC Library Catalog link below to type in your search terms. The Search Terms below are a sample of what can be found through the HCC Libraries Online system.

HCC Library Catalog

Search Terms and Search Results

Search Terms

Build search terms from the keywords. Develop more search terms through brainstorming for related words and synonyms. For example, United States is a related search term to America.

Below are some sample search terms and search results.

"human trafficking" AND Florida
HCC Library Online Catalog search results using "human trafficking" AND Florida as the search terms. Use filters to help narrow the results.
human traffick* AND report* AND "United States"
I used some search strategies to broaden the results. I removed the quotation marks around "human trafficking" and shortened the word trafficking to traffick* adding the * (asterisk or star) at the end. Using the asterisk tells the library catalog to search for all versions of the word traffick such as trafficking, trafficked.

Tips for searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Access may be limited.

Google Scholar Search Tips (includes how to locate the full text of an article)

If you're off-campus, Set up Google Scholar on your computer to allow access to resources available through HCC Libraries.

Pro Tip: Access Google Scholar through HCC Libraries databases; no need to adjust your computer's settings to show results in HCC Libraries:

Google Scholar (Google) Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. Access may be limited. Funding source: Other, free. Here is a tutorial.

Streaming Video Content about Trafficking in the United States

Videos as Resources

The following resources listed are library online databases that provide content via streaming media. These videos are mostly documentaries on the topic of human trafficking in the United States.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) Academic videos on wide range of subjects—sciences, arts and humanities, business, social sciences, and more. Funded by FLVC group license. Here is a tutorial.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) Videos covering a wide range of subjects across the spectrum of college and university curricula. Include public performance rights for use in educational settings. Funding source: Statewide allocation

Resources Accessed Through The Library

General Databases

General Databases provide information from several different types of resources, such as newspaper, magazine and journal articles, NPR audio broadcast recordings on multiple topics.

Academic OneFile (Gale) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, and reference content, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by State Library of Florida. Here is a tutorial.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Full-text journal articles, many peer-reviewed, discussing sciences, technology, health sciences, social sciences, arts, humanities, and more. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Google Scholar (Google)
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. Access may be limited. Funding source: Other, free. Here is a tutorial.

Subject Specific Online Databases

Some library databases provide access to different types of resources that are geared to a specific subject area, such as health and medicine, legal or criminal justice, social sciences, etc.

PubMed Health and Medicine information

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Nursing & allied health collection of scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. Funded by Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) CJD supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Funded by statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary sources, website links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a vast range of social issues and current topics. Funding source: Statewide allocation. Here is a tutorial.
Homeland Security Digital Library (CHDS) From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Contains policy and strategy documents, presidential directives, theses, and more. Funding source: free resource. Here is a tutorial.

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) You can narrow your search results by using the filter option of Geography, Publication Location (Florida), Timeline, etc.
Florida News Sources (NewsBank) Hint: Download the articles you want to read/review for content. The download version is easier to read and navigate.
Wall Street Journal
HCC students, faculty, & staff must set create a free personal account for online access to WSJ.com and the WSJ app. Funding source: HCC site license

Dr. Reid - ENC 1101 - Plant City Campus: MLA Research Paper