Artificial Intelligence: ChatGPT and Beyond: AI and Libary Research

AI is now included in some traditional library databases.  ChatGPT suggests some pros and cons: 

AI can increase search efficiency by suggesting Boolean searches and suggesting synonyms and related search terms.

AI can help users understand documents by providing summaries

AI can help language learners develop search queries

AI tools aren't always transparent raising concenrs about reproducibility

AI systems can amplify biases potentially affecting how documents are classified or interpreted

AI features can replace a researcher's own critical reading or information literacy.  Students may assume that AI provides perfect results. (Think of AI tools as aids - not subtitutes for thinking.)

ChatGPT also listed some other risks of the use of AI in library settings:  Surveilliance, priacy, bias, threats to originality, and sustainability. 

UCF Libraries notes: "AI tools are not databases. AI tools lack the curated precision of traditional databases but can provide quick answers and facilitate exploratory research. Some AI tools can assist in locating sources, but library databases remain the most reliable repositories of authoritative and scholarly information. A number of AI tools are paired with databases, or there are other forms of overlap, so it is important to understand the underlying mechanisms and content available through a tool or database.. To ensure you are using the right tools and resources, consult with a librarian."

We asked AI for some information on the incorporation of AI in library databases: 

AI in library research databases enhances the research process by providing natural language searching, generating summaries, suggesting related terms, and analyzing results, though it should be used as a tool to supplement human critical thinking, not replace it. These tools offer personalized assistance, identify key sources, and save time, but users must be aware of potential issues like data bias, privacy concerns, and the need to cross-reference AI-generated information with authoritative library databases for accuracy. 

How AI enhances library databases:

• Natural Language Search:

  Users can ask questions in plain language, and the AI understands the relationships between keywords and synonyms, expanding search capabilities beyond traditional keyword matching. 

• Personalized Assistance:

  AI can help with brainstorming ideas, crafting outlines, and suggesting new lines of thought, acting as a research companion. 

• Content Synthesis:

  Tools like ProQuest's Research Assistant can generate summaries of key points from academic articles, pinpointing relevant sources and saving time. 

• Improved Search Efficiency:

  AI can suggest relevant search terms, helping users refine their queries and discover new scholarly sources more effectively. 

• Enhanced User Experience:

  AI tools combine the precision of traditional databases with dynamic AI capabilities to simplify the research process and offer insights into research materials. 

Key considerations and limitations:

• Accuracy and Verification:

  AI-generated results are not flawless and should always be cross-checked against trusted library databases for accuracy and scholarly verification, especially for content behind paywalls. 

• Bias and Ethics:

  AI models can contain biases from their training data, influencing search results. Users should critically evaluate the sources and perspectives provided by AI tools. 

• Data Privacy:

  AI tools may require access to personal data or research behaviors, raising privacy concerns. It is crucial to ensure that privacy regulations are followed. 

• Over-Reliance:

  AI should be viewed as an aid and not a substitute for human judgment and critical thinking. 

• Intellectual Property:

  Be mindful of how AI tools handle copyrighted content and ensure proper citations and permissions are followed. 

Best practices for using AI with library databases:

1. 1. Use AI as a starting point:

   .

   Begin your research with AI tools to generate ideas, find initial search terms, or get summaries of broad topics. 

2. 2. Utilize library databases for authoritative information:

   .

   Access library databases for peer-reviewed, academically verified, and paywalled content that generative AI cannot access. 

3. 3. Confirm citations:

   .

   If an AI tool provides a citation, use the library's resources to confirm the article's existence and access it through the databases. 

4. 4. Critically evaluate all results:

   .

   Always question and verify information provided by AI, especially concerning bias, accuracy, and originality. 

This overview was generated with the help of AI. It’s supported by info from across the web and Google’s Knowledge Graph, a collection of info about people, places, and things. Generative AI is a work in progress and info quality may vary. For help evaluating content, you can visit the provided links. Learn more about how AI Overviews work and how data helps Google develop AI in Search.  September 4, 2025