Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources - OER

Large Repositories

Mason OER Metafinder

This search engine from George Mason University is connected to 15 major OER repositories.

Merlot

This repository is one of the biggest and more famous places to find and share teaching resources.

OER Commons

This resource seeks to collect and distribute a variety of OER at a variety of levels and subjects.

Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis (QUBES)

This repository contains learning materials, software, data, and models for teaching quantitative skills in undergraduate biology courses. QUBES is developed in part by faculty at the University of Pittsburgh.

AMSER

Materials in the Applied Math and Science Educational Repository are free for use and adaptation. Most resources are at the high school and community college levels.

Edsitement!

Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer evaluated websites.

Community of Online Research Assignments

Open resource for faculty and librarians about Research Assignments. A research assignment is anything that requires students to engage with information resources in a critical or reflective way. This most often includes finding, retrieving, analyzing and evaluating, using and integrating, or organizing the information in order to produce new knowledge.

OpenCulture

This blog formatted repository seeks to bring together free resources on culture and education. The list of movies here is impressive.

LibreTexts

A non-profit organization utilizing assistive technologies to provide open and freely accessible textbooks and interactive visualizations.

Open Oregon

This page lists course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. 

Humanities Commons

Network for people working in the humanities to share open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository. 

Open Textbooks

OpenStax College

Rice Connexions is providing peer reviewed, quality open textbooks with interactive components. There are some amazing textbooks available here, with more in production.

College Open Textbooks

This effort funded by the Hewlett Foundation, seeks to drive adoption of open textbooks. Many of the books shared on this resources are reviewed.

Open Textbook Library

Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks collected by the University of Minnesota.

BC OpenEd

A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.

Boundless

Boundless works with experts to compile web-based openly available content into the same general arrangement of textbooks. You can actually search the ISBN for your current textbook and see what content Boundless would use to replace it.

Global Textbook Project

High-level texts hosted or created by the University of Georgia.

WikiBooks

A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.

Project Gutenberg

Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.

Google Books

Some books presented in this mass conglomeration of scanned books are fully available, most are excerpted.

American Institute of Mathematics

A list of open textbooks in various subdisciplines of Mathematics approved by the AIM editorial board.

Aviation Handbooks and Manuals

Open Textbooks on Aviation from the Federal Aviation Administration (US).

FreeBooks4Doctors

Free medical textbooks.

Lyryx Open Textbooks

Lyryx offers high-quality open textbooks in the fields of accounting, mathematics, and economics. They also have optional added (paid) resources such as homeworks and quizzes to accompany the open textbooks.

Open Education Resource 2017 Textbook List  (Sacred Heart University)

OER textbooks by discipline - a list set up in 2017 by library staff at Sacred Hearth University.

 

Images and Multimedia

Images

Creative Commons Search
Guide to the Public Domain

 

IMAGES - ADA Considerations - Alt Text for Images

CSUN Universal Design Center. Best Practices for Accessible Images

Watlington, Emily. (2020, February 12). How museums are making artworks accessible to blind people online. ArtNews

 

 

Multimedia

TED
Khan Academy
PhET Science Simulations
Wikimedia Commons
CLIP Information Literacy Tutorials
HippoCampus
Jamendo
Vimeo
Critical Commons