LibGuides: The Great Debate 2024: Where to Search

Search HCC Libraries with Primo

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Keywords and Search Terms

Use 1 to 3 words as your search terms
- Example: "educational value"
Use Searching Tools such as Boolean Connectors
- Example: AND, OR, NOT
- Keep Boolean connectors all caps
  - Example: "educational value" AND AI
Searching Tips
- Place quotation marks around multi-word search terms for exact forms of a word
  - "college students" AND AI technologies
- Place an asterisk * symbol at the end of a root word for the library catalog or library database to search for all variations of that root word
  - AI technolog* AND "educational value"

More Search Tips

Tweak how you enter your search terms
- Example: change AI as an acronym to typing out the two words the acronym represents: artificial intelligence with or without quotation marks.
Watch the Publication and/or Creation and/or Copyright date for Relevancy

NOTE: If your keyword search terms are not resulting in resources you find useful, play around with the way you enter the search terms in the search box.

Some suggestions: remove all quotation marks and Boolean Connectors. You will see different results that are still relevant even though you change what and how you enter your keyword search terms.

Library Catalog

Use the HCC Online Library Catalog to search for different types of resources:

Articles from Peer-Reviewed Academic Journals
Books, both in Print and Electronic
Streaming Media/Videos

Library Databases

Database Types

The following databases will have access to articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals. Also, some databases will be in a pro/con format providing content that discusses both sides of an argument.

General

Subject Related

Computer Science (Gale)
Education Source (EBSCO)
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
Sage Journals
Search tips
From the homepage, try or more of the following methods
:
1. Use the search bar for a title, keyword, author, or subject.
2. Or, use the link, Browse Journals by Discipline, narrowing down the discipline and subject for a list of journals.
3. Or, click Explore Discipline Hubs
  to find a specific discipline and all materials that fall under it.
Discipline pages include Search Within Discipline Journals; sub-topic journals;open access journals; books, videos, and podcasts; and more.
Springer EJournal Collection
Search tips
1. On the homepage, under Browse by Discipline, click a subject to browse articles, books, reference works, and more, in that subject.
2. Or, use the search bar at the top of the page to search for a title, keyword, subject, or author.
3. On the left side of the screen, you can narrow down your search by the content type or sub-discipline.
4. Above those search filters is a box you can un-check to exclude materials not available to HCC.
5. To view the item, click on the title; you can also download PDFs to view offline.
More tips
On the results page, each title has its content type identified (book, article, etc.)above the title. Sometimes articles are parts of collections, and you can find related materials in the collection on the right side of the page after opening the title. When you open a book, you can navigate the chapters menu to read them online or download individually, or download the entire book.

The Great Debate 2024: Where to Search

Search Suggestions

Search Strategies

Search HCC Libraries with Primo

Find books, articles, videos, & more

Keywords and Search Terms

More Search Tips

NOTE: If your keyword search terms are not resulting in resources you find useful, play around with the way you enter the search terms in the search box.

Some suggestions: remove all quotation marks and Boolean Connectors. You will see different results that are still relevant even though you change what and how you enter your keyword search terms.

Library Catalog

Library Databases

Database Types

General

Subject Related

Search tips

From the homepage, try or more of the following methods

Search tips

More tips

Newspapers

Streaming Media/Video Databases

Where to Find Statistics?

Statistical Data