Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 - Eward-Mangione (Brandon): Home

Guide for online students in Professor Eward-Mangione's courses

How to access the library via Canvas

The HCC Brandon Campus Library has a variety of resources and tools available to help you to complete your research for all classes. 

Video Tour of Library Resources:

The librarian created a video that will guide you through the library resources that are most useful for your research paper. 

Frequently asked questions about research for this assignment:

How do I find information about my topic using the library resources? 

  • All library resources can be found by going to the HCC Libraries Online - click on the link in the left navigation area of this course

library link in left navigation area of canvas

  • To find books - or other items in the library - type in several keywords related to your topic (e.g. technology reading, video games, technology imagination) in the search boxkeyword search box on library homepage
  • Limit your search results by Clicking on Hillsborough/Brandon and Books in the LibraryNarrowing facets - by Campus location and by format type

 

Databases by Subject

Select the General Databases, specifically Academic OneFile, Academic Search Complete, and Omni File Full Text Mega, to locate current articles about your topic. 

 General Databases

Select the Pro/Con Databases, specifically Opposing Viewpoints in Context, to locate information that examines your topic and might highlight the negative or positive aspects of the topic. 

Pro/Con Databases

 

 

How do I cite my sources? 

Each of the library tools typically will create MLA style citations for you. Each tool is a bit different - look for "Cite", "Citation Tools", "Format Citation", and "Citation Examples".

If that doesn't help - check out the library's list of websites that help with citation styles. 

 

Still not finding what you're looking for? 

Contact your campus librarians, Kristin Heathcock and Ilene Frank. They can be reached by using the Inbox tool in MyHCC or by regular email, telephone, or in the library. 

Frequently asked questions about research for this assignment

How do I find information about my research topic using the library resources?

  • All library resources can be found by going to the HCC Libraries Online - click on the link in the left navigation area of the course in Canvas

Accessing the library from Canvas left navigation button

  • To locate books, or other items that are in the library, type in keywords related to your topic. Keep in mind that more words is not always better. Few results may indicate a need to revise the search words.

Library catalog search box

  • When reviewing the results, limit by selecting if you want to see only what is at a particular campus and/or by marking that you want only Books or only items currently available

narrowing results with specific criteria

 

  • To find critical analysis articles and online biographical information - access the library Databases
  • Databases are listed alphabetically, but can easily be identified by looking at them by Subject topic

Accessing the library databases

databases by subject identifying biography and literature

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Heathcock
Contact:
Brandon Campus Library
10451 Nancy Watkins Dr.
Tampa, FL 33619
kheathcock@hccfl.edu
813.253.7812
Website Skype Contact: kheathcock@hccfl.edu